Drive Image and Windows Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2005, 02:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default Drive Image and Windows Vista

Today, I tried to take an image of my C:\ containing Windows Vista (Beta 1, Build 5112) with Drive Image 2002. However, just as Drive Image began to create this PQI file, an Error message (Error #4444) appeared, and the process would not continue; the message did not contain any description text.

Does anyone know of a workaround to this problem?? Or, does anyone know for certain whether another version of Drive Image or Ghost (or, for that matter, any other drive imaging software)properly takes an image of a Windows Vista drive??

Thanks.
__________________

RiotWtH is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 03:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I don't have vista so I don't know. but have you try booting from the drive image cd and copy the c/ drive from there?
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

MSDN provides the files in a ISO format you don't need to make them into a ISO.


That said go back and download the ISO from MSDN otherwise don't get Vista via another means.


(I won't say it but you know what I'm leaning at)
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Tyler1989
MSDN provides the files in a ISO format you don't need to make them into a ISO.


That said go back and download the ISO from MSDN otherwise don't get Vista via another means.


(I won't say it but you know what I'm leaning at)
wow.

you really don't have a clue. he don't want a backup disc. he want to back up his OS and porgrams and data in the event of a virus or if the system crashes.

yet you want to accuse him of pirating
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 04:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
I don't have vista so I don't know. but have you try booting from the drive image cd and copy the c/ drive from there?
I did not boot from a Drive Image CD; however, I did boot from a Drive Image diskette, which should be the same thing.

Quote:
MSDN provides the files in a ISO format you don't need to make them into a ISO.

That said go back and download the ISO from MSDN otherwise don't get Vista via another means.

(I won't say it but you know what I'm leaning at)
I did download the Vista ISO through MSDN; however, the installation took about 90 minutes to complete. Since I am testing software compatibility with Windows Vista, I want to be able to reload a clean image of Vista on a test computer quickly, without constantly re-installing the operating system.

Any additional help would be appreciated. Thanks.
RiotWtH is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 04:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

tyler,

wow is rite, wanting to show everybody how much u r against pirating is one thing but when u start accusing ppl of it for simply asking a tech question that hasnt even implied an act of piracy is pretty rediculous. so either 1 of 2 things happened. u have an incontrollable disorder to try and force ur sense of self superiority over onto ppl or u dont kno the difference between someone asking how to convert a pirated vista copy to iso format and someone who already has it installed and is trying to make an image of that drive. big difference. r u trying to start flame wars. what if i accused u of pirating ur vista copy because u had a question about it?
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 04:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default

And, of course, I don't pirate software.
RiotWtH is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

RiotWtH, it sounds like something's going wrong with your image creator setup....Although this could have something to do with Vista being beta and doing some querky things to the machine. You never know. Personally, I'd use a hardware HDD image creator, but that's just 'cause I have one at work (damn expensive things). One thing you might want to try is hitting up the MS newsgroups to see if anyone else has tried this.

Tyler1989, while I aplaud you for your support against piracy, you need to take the edge off a bit. If you think someone is a pirate, voice yer concerns to a mod and/or report the post. Going all riteous on people is just gonna get you into a flame war. Accusing people, however subtley you do it, is a double-edged sword.

neversleeps, if you've got a beef about someone, PM them or get in touch with a mod. We don't need a flame war in here.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 04:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
RiotWtH, it sounds like something's going wrong with your image creator setup....Although this could have something to do with Vista being beta and doing some querky things to the machine. You never know. Personally, I'd use a hardware HDD image creator, but that's just 'cause I have one at work (damn expensive things). One thing you might want to try is hitting up the MS newsgroups to see if anyone else has tried this.
Thanks, I will definitely try this. A co-worker earlier suggested that the problem might be that Windows Vista is adding new things into the traditional NTFS, and that Drive Image 2002 is not compatible with these changes.

Here is something else to consider: earlier, I called Symantec technical support to ask them whether the newest versions of the Ghost software supported Vista imaging. Somehow, he had never heard of Windows Longhorn or Windows Vista; nevertheless, he asked me whether Windows Vista was a workstation-type OS (i.e., 98/ME/NT/2000/XP), or a server-type OS (i.e., Windows Server 2003, etc.).

In PC Magazine, I believe I read that the code for Vista is based on Windows Server 2003. Does this mean that Vista will be, as this technical support put it, a "server-type" OS?? Apparently, this is important, because you need to buy Ghost 9.0 to image workstation-type OS's, whereas you need to buy Ghost Enterprise Edition for server-type OS's.

Thanks.
RiotWtH is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well that question is double edged itself. It is based mostly on the Server 2003 but it is supposed to be and act like XP. Dont know if that makes sense but that is from what i have heard. Vista is to be the last OS M$ makes that is not server based or so i have heard. Vista is to take place of XP and be a totally user friendly OS, BlackComb and after are all going to be server based and not geared toward the common computer user. All this is speculation of course since we dont knwo what the future holds but as of this point all information is pointing in that direction. I hope that helps a little bit.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.