dreaded blue screen of death while gaming - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2004, 08:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default dreaded blue screen of death while gaming

Recently I had the dreaded blue-screen-of-death happen to me while I was playing Colin McRae Rally 04. It did the dumping of physical memory trip and wouldn't respond to any keyboard commands etc. This has happened a couple times but only while playing the game.

What would cause this to happen? overheat?(does seem to run a little warmer lately...44c) lack of Ram (I have 512)? bad install?

Most of the time the game plays alright and I have always respected my win2000 for not giving me the blue screen that I came to hate with win98.

Recently installed items:

Creative Audigy 2 ZS sound card
ATI Radeon 9200 128m vid card

Colin McRae Ralley 04 game
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 09:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Check to see if there are any patches for the game, it could have some glitch or bug that chokes up your machine.

Also, make sure you have all of the latest drivers for your devices.
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 10:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Same problem with any other games or just this one?
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 05-24-2004, 10:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

HoLoCroN: No there aren't any patches on the game site

kboy: I really only play the one game but I will soon check out if it does it on other games.
jaksback is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 11:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "The last human city...."

well? I think it's one of your memory chips. either that or it's a case of a mild trojan horse. It would be best if you try to scan your computer for viruses if you havent allready.
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 01:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 17
Default

You have any additional fans in your pc to cool your system. Some times when you have no fans present w/ a video card you tend to get heat pockets which can in turn reduce the stability of your system. I second the memory chip prob too though.
o0krylon0o is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 08:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

atirapegro: Chips r ok

oOktylonOo: I have since added more fans, inclucuding one to the video card for a total of seven fans now. haven't had the blue screen sinnce even after 3 straight hours of hard gaming.
jaksback is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 03:14 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jaknlisa619
atirapegro: Chips r ok

oOktylonOo: I have since added more fans, inclucuding one to the video card for a total of seven fans now. haven't had the blue screen sinnce even after 3 straight hours of hard gaming.
Awsume.
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 05:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default Re: "The last human city...."

Quote:
Originally posted by ATIRAGEPRO
well? I think it's one of your memory chips.
I agree w/ ATI on this one. I had a Dell a few years ago, that turned out to be a lemon. Gave me the same type of crash and the unofficial conclusion by Dell was that it was faulty RAM. The replaced it w/ a new one.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 05:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

I too had the same problem.
I installed my OS and the latest drivers for my G-card and I didn't encounter any type of Blue Screen from that day.
__________________

__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.