Downloaded drivers and only got a .inf and .sys file what do i do with them? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2006, 12:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default Downloaded drivers and only got a .inf and .sys file what do i do with them?

i downloaded drivers and all i got in the zip was an .inf and .sys file i dont know what to do with them.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 01:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

drivers for what? did you use the device manager to update them?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 05:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to topherus
Default

My experience with .inf files:
Simply right-click it, a window opens up.
Left double-click "Install".
Follow directions in subsequent windows.
Should be "good to go!".
topherus is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 08:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 33
Default

when installing the device, click the "have disk" button and browse to the location of the files you unzipped. Should be good to go from there.
black_ws6 is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 08:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Results?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 09:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

got it working thanx tho.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.