Download IE 7 Beta 2 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2006, 03:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
jbc
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 225
Default

Mind if I jump in here. I have abanond IE for several reasons, chief among which was two things: IE is simply not secure and IE is not stable. Mozilla Sea Monkey is both, Sea monkey has never had a security breach (although its fore runner, Mozilla had two breaches) and I have never heard of Sea Monkey crashing anything (IE does this all the time). Mozilla foundation makes two main browsers Firefox and Mozilla. IMHO Firefox is for the office and Mozilla is for the home (this is simply my oppinion for what its worth). The next major revision to Mozilla is called Sea Monkey. Man, sea monkey has gotten fast on dial up links!!! Imagine what it would do on a broadband link.
__________________

jbc is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 05:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
how is ff better?
1. Faster.
2. Ad-block (Couldn't live without it.)
3. Extensions galore. I use probably 4-5 mainly that are useful to me.
4. Not put out by Microsoft.
5. Security.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 09:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I dont see how.....maybe I'm dumb, I dont know, I just cant see what you all see. Maybe it's over my head, who knows.....
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 11:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

FF is only better cause of the Extensions. What if they didnt have them. No Ad Block. Security? Where? FF has just as many hacks against it as IE does. IE get patched while you get a new version to install. Just cause it doesnt use Active X you say its more secure.

Have you even tried Opera? Have you tweaked it to run better? Have you changed some options so that it works like you want? I didnt think so.

Plus with the new Opera 9 having BitTorrent built in how can you go wrong?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 11:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I just dont have any reason to switch....I've used them all and see no difference....applying patches or having it automatically install is a lot easier than installing a new version a few months or so, do you lose your extensions when doing this? I meanm since IE is built into windows, and most spyware target IEm you will always have spyware on your pc correct? THis is how I have seen it. I have cleaned any pc's that the user uses FF and never IE but they still have spyware, etc.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 11:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well i use Opera. In the time since i have installed it only 1 patch has been released. Other than that i have updated the betas i use for it.

I have found that Opera is just a bit better than IE. IT is more secure for some shady searches. It tricks everyone into thinking it is IE. Also it does render images and pages faster, that i have noticed.

I do prefer Opera over FF. I dotn even have that installed. Opera is fast by default. No extention needed. I do have Opera 9, IE7 Beta 2, and AOL Browser installed right now.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 11:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

out of the 3, what do you like best?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 11:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Out of the 3 i have. Opera 9. IE7 is second but does give some issues with Updates. That is why #3 is installed. To get around the update issue.

I have my settings tweaked so that it runs a lot like IE. I dont have it set up to run from last time. I got it all set up to run like a new browser everytime. That is where most people go wrong.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 11:23 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I would suspect that once IE7 is out, you will change, what do you think?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 11:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Not really. Opera has gotten to be so eay to use. With the wand and the way the bookmarks are done. Just overall easier for me to navigate. I do suspect that once IE7 does come out that i will use it more often than i do but Opera will be my main one for sure.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.