Downgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2007, 12:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default Downgrade

I'de like to downgrade to Windows 3.1

The crowd wants to go 'faster'

That's fine with me. Why can't we slow up a little

I think 3.1 would bring me great happiness

Where can I get 3.1 ?!
__________________

__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-10-2007, 12:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

http://www.softwarepatch.com/windows/wininstallnt.html ?
lol
__________________

NightSky is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 02:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

Hahaha you're kidding!! No way did you find that.

A+ for EFFORT Muahahahaha
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 03:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

I'm not quite sure if you can download Windows 3.1 off the NET. I'm not sure if it's legal or not.

Yep, you'll probably be able to find it on Ebay for next to nothing.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 05:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I have Windows 3.1 on my HDD. It is a whopping 14.1 MB in size.

But the only problem is that it doesnt supprt today CPU, Mobo, RAM, Amount of RAM, Video Cards, Sound Cards, Modems. Basically everything. Plus no, and i mean NO, drivers are available anymore. Even manufactorer sites have removed them from the archives.

Let alone the application fact. You might be able to run some OLD Win 95 games but nothing newer than that. Even most apps that run on 95 wont run on 3.1 anymore.

So if you are willing to run Windows 3.1 in VMWare, which might not even work as i have failed a few times trying, then by all means go ahead and isntall. But you will be back to XP before you can even finish installing.

Plus with 3.1 you have to manually setup your I/O ports for you Video card and Sound Card and set up the sound card. I hope you have all the info handy so you can.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 05:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
I'm not quite sure if you can download Windows 3.1 off the NET. I'm not sure if it's legal or not.

Yep, you'll probably be able to find it on Ebay for next to nothing.
Windows 3.1 is abandonware. It is fully legal to download this from the web and to discuss. M$ doesnt support or even have any updates for this.

Run at your own risk.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 02:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

Wow. Plan was to install it for a bit on this older computer here. Looks like it's going to be more difficult (annoying) than i thought. Thanks for the input.Win95 seems easier but thats not what i wanted to do. Thanks!
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 02:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Windows 95 is like from 98 to XP. It's such a big difference from 3.1

If the computer is good enough, try 98 or 2000.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 03:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

2000 would be the best bet.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 03:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Depends. Recommended requirements are:

P2, 256MB RAM, 6GB HD.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.