Dos to Windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2005, 07:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default Dos to Windows

Is it poss to transfer a program form DOS to windows?:
__________________

Rosie is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 07:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Explain more, because transfering a program, do you mean take DOS from like Windows 2000 to XP, or you mean c <prgm> ?

-SkyHi
__________________

SkyHi is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 12:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

What version of Windows? You can explore your entire drive through Windows, and get access to anything... Uncluding any DOS programs. Which Windows are you running?

And yes, please explain a little further. More detailed. What is it you are exactly trying to do?
Him is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 01:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default Re: Dos to Windows

Quote:
Originally posted by Rosie
Is it poss to transfer a program form DOS to windows?:
First off, DOS is an integral part of Windows. Any program that runs in DOS, can be run in Windows (one way or another).

If you're asking about an old program built for DOS, chances are, you can use it in Windows, but the actual functionality will be sketchy or unusable.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default

HI and thanks.
The situation is this There is an old accountancy package desiged for DOS which works well in windows XP through DOS. I want to know if it is possible to convert to a Windows program ( without going through DOS?)
Rosie
Rosie is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Nope. A DOS based program can only be run in DOS. XP has CMD, which is pretty much DOS but just as a program in Windows. Why dont you just get the newer version of the program? What is the program?
Him is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default

windows xp has compatability modes for legacy programs. right click the exe and click properties. click compatability tab. this does not change the code, just changes the way windows executes the program. To convert a dos app to a pure win app you'll need to rewrite the code.
office politics is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 03:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

That won't help. It's an old DOS application, probably from before Win95.

You'll just have to keep running it in the DOS shell, or else get a programmer(s) to rebuild it.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Get DOS Box, it's an emulator for DOS. I know only of it's existance, however, as I have never used it. But, is this program graphical? Or does it just run the from CMD/DOS window in XP?

Just out of curiousity, does it use 100% of your CPU? I have a DOS DASIC editor called QBASIC (I think) and it uses all it can get. The only program I made with it did that too...
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 04:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks everybody, I am sorted : o )
__________________

Rosie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.