DOS program in XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2007, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default DOS program in XP

We have a patient database here that is a DOS application. We have never upgraded it because we really just never bothered since it works fine. Anyway, we are getting concerned with the old PC it is on. I tried copying the files and installing on XP. No luck. Tried slaving the drive and running it that way. No luck. Tried running in compatibilty mode. No luck. Trying to find a third party app to convert the data into something useful that my CFO will approve. Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 04:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: DOS program in XP

Is it on an old 98 machine or what? Would it be possible to just set up a virtual machine running whatever OS is on the old one?
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: DOS program in XP

Yeah it's 98. And corporate wants all non XP machines gone by end of the year. Haven't thought about a virtual machine, nor have I ever done that. I'll have to do some research in that area.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 05:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: DOS program in XP

Ya i figured it was 98 since 2k had the same issues with certain Dos programs. Running a virtual machine is probably going to be the safest bet without having to convert/upgrade the software. If you can get a virtual machine up and running you should just be able to swap the old drive in also.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 05:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: DOS program in XP

OK, downloaded virtual PC from microsoft and installed it. Createded the virtual pc, ran the wizard and started the virtual pc. Now it wants a CD for win 98? I will have to get one from a torrent site if it needs that. I did however copy the entire contents of the other drive to a network share so all the data and stuff is safe. Any way I can install from there?
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 05:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: DOS program in XP

Nah, does the old machine still have a windows 98 cd key on it? If so just look for a copy of that cd somewhere.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 05:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: DOS program in XP

You could always give DOSbox a try. Its free, and its compatibility is awesome.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 09:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default Re: DOS program in XP

If you want that old machine exactly the way it is, just ghost (or any other drive copying software) the old machine and then ghost it back into the virtual. Works perfectly
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 10:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
forrestcupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 692
Default Re: DOS program in XP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
You could always give DOSbox a try. Its free, and its compatibility is awesome.
I agree. That is what I was thinking. Why not just use DOSbox to run the DOS program in XP? With DOSbox you don't have to install a whole OS, it just emulates dos for you very well.
__________________

forrestcupp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for an art program that... ChouZangetsu Web Graphics and Design 7 07-21-2007 06:24 PM
uninstalling program, just read!!! robina_80 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-28-2007 02:55 PM
Program files (x86) Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 0 06-02-2007 12:59 PM
Xbox 360 Disc Replacement Program Osiris Microsoft XBox 5 04-04-2007 03:13 PM
dead pixel fixer program... b1gapl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 03-27-2007 11:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.