DOS Program Automation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2004, 12:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default DOS Program Automation

I have a disk Imaging program (Power Quest Disk Image 3.0)
and I am try to automate the imaging process
the PQDI exe doesn't support automation.
is there a way to automate the process from an external file
ie a batch file.
__________________

__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I don't think so, at least not from a batch file. In my experience, batch files are only for automating DOS commands. Once you enter a program, the batch file stops processing the commands until you exit the program and return to DOS. If the program itself doesn't support any automation, then I don't think that you can do it.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

If you want command prompt automation you might have to use a program like Symantec Ghost.

You can fully customize it to your desired specifications all via an .ini file that the program makes for you.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 03-30-2004, 08:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

ok THX back to the drawing Board...
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 03-30-2004, 04:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

ghost will make a bootup floppy with your image which you can edit. i would turn the boot floppy into a bootDVD and put the image files into this DVD. you can create this with nero or any burning software. these are the commandline switches for Ghost:

http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT...&osv=&osv_lvl=
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-30-2004, 06:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 175
Default

what is it you want to automate? the entire process?

I use Drive image, i love it...

I find though that it doesn't take to long to kick off if you boot from a cd. Only takes a few minutes to boot up and start the restore image process.
__________________
Life doesn\'t always go how you want it, but it sure goes the way that you make it....
asupertech is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 08:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

ekÆsine>
the image is only 600MBish so I can use a regular CD
well I dont have ghost so that doesn't help me.

asupertech>I wanted to be able to boot off the CD and restore the image
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 03-31-2004, 12:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 175
Default

there was a good write up online as to how to create the boot cd and kick off the program automagically... but since symantec bought power quest i cant seem to find any helpful support info. So i will try from memory.

Using the Create boot floppies wizard do what you normally do. Install the dos drivers and such. Create the two disks.
the first one is the boot disk that kicks off the Networkboot and all that jazz...
the second floppy contains the program files to run power quest..

After the two floppies are created.
Create a folder in the shared folder on the network that you told power quest where the image will go. \\computer\networkshare
call the folder PQDI. or what ever you want that is less then 8 letters. (remeber you are using DOS)
copy the entire contents of the second floppy into that folder.

Insert Disk #1
right click on Autoexec,bat and choose edit.
scroll down, you will see "please enter disk #2"
before that line type in \\computer\networkshare\PQDI\PQDI.EXE
@Rem out the rest of the statments.

Save the autoexec.bat file.
TEST the floppy to make sure it will boot the computer and kick off the program.
after you have it working....

Open your CD burning program. Most CD buring porgrams have an option to create a bootable CD. Usually it is under file/create cd/create bootable cd... do a search in help for your cd burning program for 'bootbale cd'....

It will read the floppy convert it and burn a bootable cd for you. Nice...


Now go to the computer you want to image put in cd, reboot and it will go all the way to the create image screen... a few clicks and it will create the image....

the issue is you are cutting it pretty close to the amount of space you have on the cd compared to your image.

if you can fit it all, you can create the bootable cd to run the program and restore an image on the cd.

do all the above steps, edit the autoexec.bat file acordingly, and burn the image, and the boot files to a cd.

I have never done that though, all of my images are about 2 gigs or more so i have no need to do that.

Automation if fine, but i have never had a need to do it all automatically, Since I am creating an image, i want to make sure all of the setting are correct and it kicks of properly. Nothing worse then THINKING you have a good image, and finding out it is no good when you REALLY need it.... considering it only takes less then am inute to click the buttons and confim it is correct and starting..it is worth it to be infront of the computer.
__________________

__________________
Life doesn\'t always go how you want it, but it sure goes the way that you make it....
asupertech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.