Don't Panic Error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2003, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
Default Don't Panic Error

Ok I now keep getting this error message saying ENCMONTR out of memory. Also the other error that keeps coming up reads "Don't Panic was unable to locate a required dll(Panic32/PanicNT) anyone know what these mean??? Please help!! Ever since this error message has arose my HD space has mysteriously became full from 7.5GB to 12.6GB and I can no longer enable System Restore because everytime I uncheck the disable system restore and the computer restarts it always comes back as being disabled once again. I don't know what is up with my computer so anyone can help please do!!!
__________________

Indiana Playa is offline  
Old 01-08-2003, 11:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/default...;en-us;q306614

This might help with the ENCMONTR problem.. the first part of the article doesn't seem to relate to your situation, but the removal instructions will probably help.

As for the "Don't Panic" error, I haven't found anything yet (well, i found a picture of it http://land.heim.at/pampa/251093/zeug/panicnt.jpg) but I'm still looking...
__________________

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 01-09-2003, 09:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Don't Panic - http://www.panicware.com/product_dp.html

Do you have this?
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 01-09-2003, 09:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2
Thumbs up Yup

So it is Pop Up Stopper that is causing the problem that is the only thing by Panic Ware I have installed???
Indiana Playa is offline  
Old 01-09-2003, 10:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 28
Default

if you can't fix the problem reset your hard drive and re-install windows!
vdalian is offline  
Old 01-09-2003, 03:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Jeez, thats not something everyone wants to do, for something as small as this some troubleshooting is in order.

I would uninstall the panicware product, it soulds like thats whats causing the issue.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 01-09-2003, 08:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Yeah, same for me. I would not format and re-install unless it was a last ditch effort.

Uninstall everything "panic" and then do a search and make sure everything "panic" is gone. Usaully when a product does something like that there will still be traces in the registry. If you are compfortable with using regedit, go through and manually do a search and remove everything "panic".

And as for vdalian, man, that is terrible advice, you shouldn't tell people to do that unless they HAVE to, some people really don't know what else to do and they will reformat for the smallest thing.

That's just my two cents.
__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 12-19-2003, 01:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
Default Don't Panic Pop-Up Stopper: Full removal

Click Start, and then click Run.
In the Open box, type msconfig, and then click OK.
Click the Startup tab.

The Startup tab lists items that load at startup from the Startup folder and the registry. You can select the configuration files that you do not want to load when you restart the computer.

Unclick the dpps2 and hit Apply. Then Reboot.


REF:
Program Name: Don't Panic Pop-Up Stopper

Executable Name: dpps2.exe

Required: User's choice

Comments: Pop-UpStopper Companion from Panicware. Pop-up blocker integrated into theIE toolbar. Note that the Pro version doesn't load in startup as it isinstalled as an Internet Explorer toolbar. Can cause problems with IE ifyou use WinXP and uninstall Service Pack 1. Uninstalling the softwareleaves it in the startup group
__________________

Cooly-o is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.