does anyone use siderbar - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2007, 07:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mr Beans Sidekick
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 563
Send a message via MSN to Max Power
Default does anyone use siderbar

does anyone really even use the sidebar in vista? I always have it turned off and don't see much of a purpose for it and find it in the way and pointless.
__________________

__________________
Max Power is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: does anyone use siderbar

I like it, if you have a large monitor. But that was when I was testing Vista RC, I don't really run Vista anymore. Might upgrade later.
__________________

__________________

Law is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 08:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 17
Default Re: does anyone use siderbar

I use it just to view the daily weather forecast and the calendar.
Evolution556 is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 08:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: does anyone use siderbar

I use the sidebar all the time. For the time, date, weather, CPU Meter, Uptime, among other things.

But mine is placed on my 2nd monitor to the right side where it is always out of the way of what ever i do.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-11-2007, 09:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: does anyone use siderbar

I run XP, so I don't have the Vista sidebar. I do, however, use Yahoo Widgets, and keep them in their dock (sorta like a sidebar).

I do use a sidebar in Firefox, though, and feel lost without it. I have buttons on it for NewTab, Bookmarks, Downloads, CookieCuller, Add Ons, Get More Extensions, and Firebug.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 10:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: does anyone use siderbar

I only watch the performance, my pictures the weather and the time.
__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 11:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: does anyone use siderbar

nope ive disabled them as they use some of my CPU and RAM
Nick is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 12:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: does anyone use siderbar

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickm926 View Post
nope ive disabled them as they use some of my CPU and RAM
Name me one thing that a computer uses that doesnt use CPU and RAM?

Everything uses CPU and RAM. It is just if you have enough to spare to allow the usage.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 12:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: does anyone use siderbar

i find with my pc (only and a athlon 3800) that i can navigate quicker with the sidebar disabled

i also thin kthat they are silly (everyone will disagree with me on that one) like wiritng a little not to yourself wtf?, ok, the CPU and RAM dials are useful but the slideshow and that little game thing are pretty stupid
Nick is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 02:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: does anyone use siderbar

You are correct. Some gadgets are useless. But some others are very helpful. Like if you want the weather at a glance, time, date without having to bring up the Clock properties.

So some can be used for good thigns while most remain useless for the average user. I dont see why people want gadgets for games. Pointless. But i do use the gallery so i can have constant pics of my daughter rotating on my screen. Which is very nice.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.