Does anyone here... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2005, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Question Does anyone here...

...have a list of those little command prompts you type in when you go to the start > run?
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 08:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You looking for any particular?

ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew

I use those a lot, that's just two.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 08:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 544
Default

they are programs.

start > run > notepad

would run notepad, the list would depend on what you had installed on your computer.
fitzjj is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 08:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
You looking for any particular?
Well, not really, I'm just wanting a list of them for future reference. I have another question. What form of Linux would be best? http://www.linuxiso.org/ I've heard that Suse is really good, but I have a friend who says Knoppix is also decent.
Regulus is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 09:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I don't know anything about Linux except they are very stable and I've heard Suse is very good. Professional version I've used before.

Here are some more:

msconfig
sfc /scannow
regedit
cmd
netstat
ping
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 09:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Do any of the commands you are providing require a .exe at the end? Thanks! Keep 'em coming, I am gonna record these eventually.

EDIT: Can you also give a quick little explanation of what each command does? Sorry, I'm being so picky.
Regulus is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 09:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

No, just type them in.
This releases and renews your ip address should something go wrong with your internet connection, maybe your modem dropped your ip, etc

[b]ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew[b]

regedit opens up the registry, but only use this if you know what you are doing as it can render your os useless should you delete the wrong key, always make a backup before you change or delete anything in here.

ping command will tell you if you are reaching anyone out on the net say like yahoo. type ping www.yahoo.com and if you are online, you will get a reply back, if not, you will get a request timed out.

sfc /scannow cans your pc for protected files that may have been changed and if it finds one or some, you will be prompted to insert your os cd to replace those files with the originals.

The netstat command is used to display the TCP/IP network protocol statistics and information.

Check here for some more:

http://www.computerhope.com/cgi-bin/search.cgi
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 09:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Here are some

%temp% takes you to your temp files
recent takes you to a big cache of shortcuts to every recent file or program you have opened up, very useful for deleting ur porn tracks

gpedit
msconfig
regedit
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 12:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 544
Default

If you go:
contorl panel > Sytem > Advanced > environment variables
These show the paths than are looked through when you enter any of these commands. Basically any program you put in this path is run when you enter its name. It is the same idea as the classpath in linux.
For example i program in java - to compile jave requires the javac compiler if i load up command prompt
Start > run > cmd
change to the directory to where the file i want to use is and enter:
javac filename.java
it will compile it - i am calling the javac program with the argument filename.java. The run option just saves loading up command prompt to run one of these programs - they can all be run from command prompt too.

- this is why you will never get a complete list, as people all have different programs on their computer - for example i doubt you would have jdb on your computer and i'm sure you have programs that i dont. You could compile a list of programs that come within the classpath on a windows install such as ipconfig and netstat. Most of which will make more sense if you run them from command line.

Basically operating systems didnt always come with graphical user interfaces and everything was done on the command line (eg msDOS) - this was how everyting was run.

As for linux - you can run a linux shell enulator on your windows computer -called cygwin

Alternatively as for SUSE, yes it is extremely good, and i would say one of the tidiest versions of linux. if you want to go for linux then this is the one i would recommend.
fitzjj is offline  
Old 01-31-2005, 01:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

wouldn't it be easier to ask on here when you need something, as if you are like me, when you format your hard drive, you will not remember to back this up, as I have lost loads of things I need, but dont use often, I even lost course work - hope i don't need to print it off again. :S


I have only used msconfig to get rid of the evidence of a dodgy porn site, that made media player open on log in
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.