Do I need an Anti-Virus if... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2005, 03:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

running windows without an AV is like having sex without a condom.

if you using it and it doesn't break, then you are protected, but going without it, then you will be taking chances
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 04:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Yeah if you dont have A/V you will get open sores on your desktop that secrete a yellow milky ooze.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 07-12-2005, 01:39 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 103
Send a message via Yahoo to Piney
Default

Even with an active AV scanner, you still have to be very careful of where you go, what you do, what you view.

My AV will grab the infected but of course has no idea of the "click here to update your pw and account profile" type stuff.

I don't use the web-based emails such as hotmail because I don't have the ability to check the contents of email without opening it.

I use spybot and adaware weekly, scan the whole box nightly with the AV, and about once a month hit one of the online scanners as a double check.

But, I also am meticulous about emptying out the garbage on a regular basis.

Piney
Piney is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 05:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

just use an antivirus....they're free now, and save your PC's LIFE!!
talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-15-2005, 08:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,286
Default

i just have the free AVG AV, i just scan my computer once in a while if i notice anything.. i don't run it in real time.
__________________

__________________
Samsung QX410 notebook <-- lol, I'm always on the go these days :(
pc_boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.