DNS error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2003, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to NuCastle
Question DNS error

Hello,

I have a Microsoft DNS server installed on a Ms Proxy 2.0 machine. Recently there is a warning message saying that the DNS Server encountered invalid domain name offset in packet. Offset is the error. Is there anyone who has any idea on this message? And any method to solve this error?

Thank you very much!

NuCastle
__________________

NuCastle is offline  
Old 11-04-2003, 11:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yes, this error is indicating that you are receiving bad packets from a remote source. I was able to localize the packet source in a prior implementation an dblock the IP...but this might be a different issue for your specific situation. The problem can be pretty vauge....as with all MS products....but this is essentially what it is telling you. I think, first off, you should try and packet sniff your gateway/router to try and co-ordinate the error with the problem IP address.

-Michael
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-05-2003, 12:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

try and find an IP to another DNS server and use that
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-05-2003, 12:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Dude.....I think he might me indicating that he is running his own DNS. I certainly assumed so....

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-06-2003, 12:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

oh, i see - i didn't read it properly
does it give you the problem domain name?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.