Displaying turning off, not turning back on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2006, 02:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default Displaying turning off, not turning back on

Hello.

I thought I had my computer fixed untill this morning when I woke up,

I turned the monitor off last night with my ATI remote wonder before I went to sleep.
When I woke up I turned on my monitor but it wouldnt display anything.

I have the latest drivers for the remote and my Graphics card (Gigabyte ATI radeon 9600XT) and my harddrive was recently formated and windows installed so I dont know what is wrong.

It doesnt look like my computer has crashed since there are no system messages as to why the monitor wouldnt display.

Could this be a problem with my graphics card? maybe not enough power from the PSU to it? I allready know my PSU sucks and have orderd a new one from Antec.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 03:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

bad card or bad monitor
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 01-02-2006, 03:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default

im thinking it has something to do with the Remote lol.. it didnt do this before I got the remote.

I will turn the display off manually tonight and see what happens in the morning.

Thnx
__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Old 01-03-2006, 02:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to scottjames84
Default

It happend again this morning when the screen saver was on.

I had a look at the error reports in ACEEvent log and found some interesting information.

I am getting errors like.

0000000001: 2006-01-03 11:12:40:359 Exception <Runtime@676>: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it
Exception Called by: ATI.ACE.LOG.Foundation.Service.Service::ConnectToO bjectImpl processID:03552 threadIDCLISystemtray ) domainNameCLI.exe ) assemblyNameLOG.Foundation.Service, Version=1.2.2084.74, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=90ba9c70f846762e)
************************************************** ************************************************** ********************


For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.


so I looked up google on this information and found that it could be a problem with .net 2 and that .net2 has to be installed before Catalyst is installed which it wasnt so I uninstalled all .net's and catalyst then reinstalled .nets then catalyst I also uninstalled the remote and reinstalled it.

I am getting the errors still but it hasnt crashed yet.

Anyone else had this problem?
__________________
Scott
----

- Raidmax tornado Gaming Case
- Corsair 4GB (2x XMS3 2GB) PC-12800 (1600MHz) XMP DDR3
- Sapphire Radeon 5850
- AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4ghz
- Asus MS226H 21.5"Wide Full HD Monitor
- Logitech G9x gaming mouse
-GA-MA785GMT-UD2H Socket AM3 - AMD 785G/SB710, 4xDDR3-1800OC, ATI HD4200, mATX
- Seagate 1.5TB HD
- Windows 7 Ultimate
scottjames84 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.