Display settings, help I can't reset on 98SE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2005, 04:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default FIXED:Display settings, help I can't reset on 98SE

I keep my display settings on High Color 16 bit and 800x600. When I turned on the computer today it's set at 16 colors and 640x480. I've tried to reset it, restart and it's back to the setting I don't want.

This is an OLD HP 6535, can someone please help. Thank you

Went to Intel.com after finding out had Intel 810 chipset and downloaded update and it's fixed. Thank you.
__________________

meandmyshadow is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 04:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

did you try reinstalling your video drivers?
__________________

__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 05:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default

yep most likely there your video drivers... Go to hp's website and see if you can download them.

CoConut....
__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 05:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default

I went to HP's website and these are the downloads available for the 6535, not sure what they are but I don't see anything that says video driver???



Microsoft Windows 98


Driver - Keyboard, Mouse and Input Devices Date Version Previous Size

» Multimedia Keyboard Driver Update

03-2003 3.2.07 - 5.03M



Driver - Modem Date Version Previous Size

» Pavilion Conexant SoftK56 PCI Modem Update - North America

01-2000 2.11.62 - 1.63M




CD-ROM order page Date Version Previous Size

» HP Pavilion Floppy Disk Controller Patch

09-2000 1.1 - 0 bytes




Software Date Version Previous Size

» HP Pavilion PCs Floppy Disk Controller Software Update

08-2000 1.1 - 824.0k
meandmyshadow is offline  
Old 04-09-2005, 05:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Open it up and look at the chipset. Search Google or Yahoo.

CoConut..
__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 02:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default

I'm sorry, I'm not that great at tech stuff. What do you mean? Open what up and what's a chipset and what am I looking up on Google?
meandmyshadow is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 03:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 72
Default

See if this works.
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/s...&dlc=en&os=228

download the one "nVidia driver update".
__________________
Amd Athlon 64 3500+
Abit \"AN8\" mobo
Geil 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200
ASPIRE Chameleon 550W psu
Maxtor 200gb
EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Pci-e
Sony 52x32x52x16 Combo
XION Black ATX Gaming PC Case
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
SONY SDM-S73/B 17\" Lcd Monitor
Logitech lx-700 cordless keyboard

Relax!! Relax!! Relax!!
coconut2 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 10:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default

For the above download it's for OS Windows XP and for Compaq 6535BE, I have Windows 98SE and HP Pavillion 6535.. Can I still download?
meandmyshadow is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 11:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 241
Default

check your chipset... that one is for a Compaq Presario, you have a HP Pavilion, they are not the same, so find out what your chipset is, and report back to us
__________________
If all you can see is Darkness Within the Light, You are blind to this world.
http://img25.exs.cx/img25/7382/blade4ls.gifhttp://img222.exs.cx/img222/1324/z1irvineshksvan6uv.gif
ShadowFalls is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 11:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default

I went to HP.com and my model's spec show the chipset to be Intel 810. Not sure what a chipset is or what it does, but that's the info. Thanks
__________________

meandmyshadow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.