Display Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-11-2005, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default Display Problems

I'm using a KDS Canada Monitor Model XF7b and a Standard PCI Graphics Adapter (VGA) and I can only use 16 colors and 640 x 480 resolution. Anything I can download or do to fix this problem? Thanks.
__________________

harley3344 is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 06:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Drivers
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 06:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 438
Default

where and how plz
harley3344 is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 06:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What Operating system are you running. Also what kind of video card do you have
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 07:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Hi.....I had a friend post that for me. I am running Windows 98 Second Edition. All it says beside name is Standard PCI Graphics Adapter (VGA).
twin4819 is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 07:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

You need to open your case and read the chipset on the card.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 07:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to s0me0ne Send a message via Yahoo to s0me0ne
Default

shawn nailed it. its because windows knows its there and knows its a display driver but other then that it doesnt know anything. pull the card out download and install the driver and it should work. note, im not trying to over shadow shawn here!
__________________
Anal nerd who can\'t spell.
s0me0ne is offline  
Old 06-11-2005, 10:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by twin4819
Hi.....I had a friend post that for me. I am running Windows 98 Second Edition. All it says beside name is Standard PCI Graphics Adapter (VGA).
http://www.sisoftware.net/index.html...ll&langx=en&a=

this program will tell you all about your video. the lite version is free.
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.