A disk read error occured? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2006, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Default A disk read error occured?

Alright, i'm moving a bunch of my old computers around and using them for different network/file servers ect.

I have 3 different Compaq Ipaq computers, none of which actually have a CD drive in them. The first one, i got linux installed on, and working perfectly.

Now, on the one i'm trying to use, i did the same thing i did for the last one, took the harddrive out, put it into another computer to install the OS (Win XP Prof... YES a legal copy), and then put the hard drive back into the original computer.

It installed just fine on my other computer, no hard drive errors or any other problems but when i put the harddrive back into the Ipaq, i get an error message saying

"A disk read error occured
Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart"

I've googled it, and it says that's a problem with the harddrive.... but if it works just fine in my other PC, why is ther a problem here?
__________________

xMemphisx is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 06:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

The computer you installed the OS on was it the same model as the IPAQ you are putting it in? If it isnt then that is the problem. You simply cant install the OS on a hard drive on one computer, take it out and expect it to work in a completely differnt model. I am not saying it never works, but rarely works. You could fix it with a repair of the OS...with no CD-ROM drive though we may have to do a network start...hmmm..what are our options? Does it have a floppy, usb..etc etc..
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 09:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 25
Default

It has USB drives, a 10/100 NIC

No floppy or CD drives though.

A 10GB HDD
xMemphisx is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you should have networked the pc's and partition it and copy the content of the cd on the hdd and installed from there
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.