"Disk Read Error" AND "Error Reading Operating System" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2005, 03:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default "Disk Read Error" AND "Error Reading Operating System"

I use Windows XP. I boot from my 40gig HD and have an 80gig slave drive. My computer's worked great untill 2 days ago. Now whenever I boot up, it does the usual cd rom and floppy drive noises then it shows a black screen that says "A Disk Read Error Occured. Press CTRL ALT DELETE"

So I CTRL ALT DELETE it and then it tries to boot up and says "Error Reading Operating System". It alternates between these two messages when I reboot

Here's the thing though, After about about 20 minutes messing with the computer (turning it off and on and restarting multiple times), it will finally load windows and work just fine. All my data is on my hard drive and everthing runs smooth. But then it will give me the same errors when I try to boot up the next time.

What can I do?
__________________

quiq is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

Tried using your XP disc to repair the OS ?
__________________

__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Sounds like some kind of driver conflict, or corrupted driver of some sort...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
Sounds like some kind of driver conflict, or corrupted driver of some sort...
Hence why I said to try the OS repair option
__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

I really think its the data cable problem... remove the data cable from the hard drive and then connect it in its correct position if the problem occurs again get a new cable and make sure its and ATA-100.
Vnet is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 04:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Catbert
Hence why I said to try the OS repair option
the os repair option sumtimes does not repair drivers n stuff so i think going to the exact point it may b a driver fault...!!
Vnet is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 07:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Sounds like you either have some file corruption or bad sectors on the drive.
Try booting from a XP boot disk & running scandisk. If this comes up clean, run it again with & let it do a surface scan.
Samm is offline  
Old 02-24-2005, 12:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

What's your 40 Gig Master?? A Seagate? I had the same type of drive, except it was a 10GB that failed on me
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 12:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default

I dont know how to repair drivers. I put it my XP CD and it boots up to a menu from there where I can either install windows again or use the repair feature. I try repair feature and it just sends me to dos and asks "which windows installation would I like to enter? 1: Windows...

So I type 1 and it says below "C:\Windows>
and thats it

When I was able to get it to go into windows yesterday by fiddling around, my master hard drive and slave (for media storage) worked fine... But how can I use scandisk from dos?

Also, could I install windows onto my slave drive somehow without having to format my 40 gig master? Then start the computer up from my slave? I'm guessin there's a hardware issue with just my master drive right? I opened the computer up and made sure all the wires were in snug and they were

I dont want to lose the data thats on my 40 gig if possible!
quiq is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 02:48 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 151
Default

To run scandisk from MS-DOS, press F8 (Or whicherev button) to enter DOS mode during boot. Once in DOS mode type the following:

PHP Code:
cd/
chkdsk /
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You could install your OS on your slave, thing is it may ask you to format the drive first if you don't already have an OS installed on it.

By formatting, along with producing the sectors on the disk for the OS to be installed on and use, it will wipe your data.

Perhaps you could buy a new HDD ?
__________________

__________________
Be not afraid of growing slowly, be afraid only of standing still - Knowledge will get you somewhere, stupidity will get you nowhere
Catbert is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.