Disk Read Error!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2006, 06:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Exclamation Disk Read Error!!

Hi, when i start up my computer i get a "Disk read error press CTRL + ALT + DEL to restart Tried everything and nothing seems to work. I put the windows xp home edition installation C.D in and selected boot from C.D, it then says windows is inspecting your p.c then the screen goes black for agesand the c.d stops spinning! I despretly need someones help.

I was thinking of changing the IDE cables and buying a new hard drive, what do u lot think?

Ive done near enough everything, gone to bois loaded system fail safe defaults. Im at the end.

Any help would be appreciated!

Ive got windows xp home SP2

2Ghz intel, two 80 GB hard drives, 1024 MB ram
__________________

Joe563 is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 11:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Put that harddrive in another PC as a slave drive, get any important data off of it and buy a new Drive.

If it is a mechcanical Failure, you might not even be able to get the data off without spending big bucks to have a company do it.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 09-20-2006, 01:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I would first check the IDE cable, switch out for a known working one, I see you have two hard drive..is the other one still working? You can attach it to another computer just to make sure the original computer's IDE connector on the motherboard isn't broken. So on another computer you can run powermax to test the hard drive.

http://www.maxtor.com/portal/site/Ma...&downloadID=22

If your backup data reside on that second hard drive...you can still partition at least 4 gig of space for XP using GpartEd (free partitioning software). So there you could iinstall XP. Just be careful how you do thing if you don't want to wipe that data clean by accident.

http://gparted.sourceforge.net/

Quote:
I put the windows xp home edition installation C.D in and selected boot from C.D, it then says windows is inspecting your p.c then the screen goes black for agesand the c.d stops spinning!
This part I'm a little concern that it could be a bad RAM or a bad CD drive.
Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.