Disk needed to reformat windows - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2007, 05:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Disk needed to reformat windows

did you originally have the disc then lose it? if you bought the cd and came with just the cd then it is oem, if you bought it and it came with the box and manuals etc.. it is retail, you problaly dont have coorporate. well if you just bought only the key then whatever version of xp you will only accept your key ie. a oem key will not work when installing a retail version of xp and vice versa
__________________

TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 08:02 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 38
Default Re: Disk needed to reformat windows

I bought the computer through Ebay and never got a CD. I had to buy a battery and charger as well.
__________________

nerves is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 08:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Disk needed to reformat windows

buy the cd off ebay...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 09:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: Disk needed to reformat windows

if you have dsl you could dl it from a torrent site it should be called windows xp 9in1, although you do this at your own risk and i cannot be held responisble if you get the "letter"
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 04-30-2007, 10:15 PM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Disk needed to reformat windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEnd187 View Post
did you originally have the disc then lose it? if you bought the cd and came with just the cd then it is oem, if you bought it and it came with the box and manuals etc.. it is retail, you problaly dont have coorporate. well if you just bought only the key then whatever version of xp you will only accept your key ie. a oem key will not work when installing a retail version of xp and vice versa
yes it will. certain version (there are at least 32 different one) serial won't work with others, but oem will almost work on all version (non coperate home versions, that is. home will work on home and pro on pro, but not vice versa)
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Corrupt windows XP file, wont boot XP spikoman69 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-07-2007 05:43 AM
Windows Reformat nerves Microsoft Windows and Software 9 04-30-2007 01:21 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM
Windows Defrag and Disk Cleanup Techy_Heidi Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-03-2007 12:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.