disk defrag - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2004, 01:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default disk defrag

my dad replaced his mobo and now when he tries to do a defrag he gets some type of error saying something about check fdisk
how can he fix this
__________________

straightv6 is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 02:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default

running win xp
__________________

straightv6 is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 02:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

winXP Help & Support
============================
Detecting and repairing disk errors
You can use the Error-checking tool to check for file system errors and bad sectors on your hard disk.

Open My Computer, and then select the local disk drive you want to check. ( example drive C: or D: )

On the File menu, click Properties.

On the Tools tab, under Error-checking, click Check Now.

Under Check disk options, select the Scan for and attempt recovery of bad sectors check box.

press start to begin scanning your drive
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Notes:

To open My Computer, click Start, and then click My Computer.
All files must be closed for this process to run. If the volume is currently in use, a message box will appear prompting you to indicate whether or not you want to reschedule the disk checking for the next time you restart your system.

Then, the next time you restart your system, disk checking will run. Your volume will not be available to perform other tasks while this process is running.

If your volume is formatted as NTFS, Windows automatically logs all file transactions, replaces bad clusters, and stores copies of key information for all files on the NTFS volume.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 03:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default

thanks for the help
__________________
1 fast and 1 slow
straightv6 is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 73
Default

Have you tried to run chkdsk?
mitschej is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 07:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yea, this is what you need to do.....I have the same problem on a couple of PCs running XP.

Click Start > Run > type 'chkdsk' and hit enter. After this is complete, you will be able to run the defrag utility.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 10:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

Norton has a Defrag-Type program, if you have Norton System works its called Speed Disk
ADZ is offline  
Old 01-16-2004, 06:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 67
Default

I would recommend using Diskeeper over any other defragger. One of the things I love about it is that it runs in the background & doesn't restart on open programs.

Hedda Lora
__________________

HeddaLora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.