Disk Clone - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-22-2007, 08:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Disk Clone

I've installed WinXP on a 4gb HD. I've now dug up a 10gb one and was thinking of transferring the data in the 4gb on to the 10gb one. I've remembered that you can clone the drives and boot off the new one. Is this possible or do I have to reinstall? If so, which programs can do it the best, i don't care for cost. Thanks
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 08:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Disk Clone

The most common heard name is Norton Ghost for this. One called Acronis looks better for a retail product. EAZCLONE is a freeware found at EAZCLONE free download: EAZCLONE is a very simple and effective hard drive imaging/cloning software. Multicasting in sixteen network cards;Create/restore partition image; create/restore disk image; check image; clone from disk to disk.

For drives that small a quick partition, format, and fresh install of Windows would insure the best results however. The files you want would copy fast by simply dragging folders from one explorer window to another or the copy/paste there. The cloned drive would make a good backup on removable media.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 08:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Disk Clone

if i clone the partitions itll boot off the new disk right?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 08:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: Disk Clone

I've heard you can also use the free GParted for partition cloning and resizing. Google GParted, it has a LiveCD and comes in some other Linux LiveCD's as well. Also, QTParted is pretty much the same thing, it or GParted is on the System Rescue CD which is great for PC recovery and stuff.
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 05-22-2007, 09:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Disk Clone

GParted is more of a drive partitioning tool and can be downloaded for cd at SourceForge.net: Files

Gnome Partition Editor
GParted is the Gnome Partition Editor application. Before attempting to use it, here is some basic background information.

A hard disk is usually subdivided into one or more partitions. These partitions are normally not re-sizable (making one larger and the adjacent one smaller) The purpose of GParted is to allow the individual to take a hard disk and change the partition organization therein, while preserving the partition contents.

GParted is an industrial-strength package for creating, destroying, resizing, moving, checking and copying partitions, and the filesystems on them. This is useful for creating space for new operating systems, reorganizing disk usage, copying data residing on hard disks and mirroring one partition with another (disk imaging).

GParted uses GNU libparted to detect and manipulate devices and partitiontables.

Several (optional) "file system" tools provide support for file systems not included in libparted.
These optional packages will be detected at runtime and do not require a rebuild of GParted.

GParted is written in C++ and uses gtkmm for its Graphical User Interface (GUI). The general approach is to keep the Graphical User Interface as simple as possible. Every attempt was made to conform to the GNOME Human Interface Guidelines.

GParted comes under the terms of the General Public License GParted -- Welcome

Some screen shots on it can be looked over at GParted -- Screenshots
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 08:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Disk Clone

If you clone the drive from the HD in the PC you are going to use the cloned drive in, it will work fine. First boot you may get the "found new hardware" balloon.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 05:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: Disk Clone

Sometimes that should work while at other times you might have to perform a repair install of Windows if problems are seen. Cloning works best when the second drive is identical not larger in size. Creating an image of all the important files and having a clean install of Windows still seems the best way there since these are not large capacity drives to start with.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard disk trouble TheMajor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-16-2007 07:54 PM
How to boot from a boot disk? Ioanni Microsoft Windows and Software 6 05-07-2007 06:53 PM
Disk needed to reformat windows nerves Microsoft Windows and Software 14 04-30-2007 10:15 PM
Disk boot failure Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-11-2007 05:00 PM
SATA disk problem uNN4m3d Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-07-2007 07:19 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.