Disabling UAC?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2008, 04:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Disabling UAC??

Is it possible to disable UAC? Like the message that pops up if i try to delete a file out of C:/ProgramFiles

and it says Cancel or Continue

is it possible to remove this?

xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Old 03-08-2008, 07:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Disabling UAC??

Yes. This is not a browser issue so i will move it to the Windows area.

Go into the control panel under user accounts. There you will see the option to turn off UAC.

I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 11:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578
Default Re: Disabling UAC??


The best and safest thing to do is not to disable UAC entirely, but to disable the elevation prompts using the freeware program TweakUAC. In doing so, you'll still benefit from certain features of UAC such as Internet Explorer operating in protected mode and programs not running with administrative privileges by default.

TweakUAC is a free standalone program which doesn't run in the background. Simply run it and select from three options: Turn UAC off, Switch UAC to quiet mode and Turn UAC on. Switching UAC to quiet mode will leave UAC on, but disable the annoying elevation prompts.

|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 03-09-2008, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 228
Default Re: Disabling UAC??

Thx Guys.
xXxexpertxXx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Disabling Network card after shutdown? SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-21-2007 01:33 PM
Disabling Internet Access Through a Router Raze664 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 08-10-2007 11:08 AM
Disabling start-up programs RalliArt882 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 07-25-2007 03:35 PM
Disabling Symantec to install a printer Instrumediatech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-23-2007 08:50 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.