disabling open exe file security? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2006, 05:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default disabling open exe file security?

'Windows found that this file is potentially harmful. To protect your computer, Windows has blocked access to this file.'

does anybody no how to disable windows from blocking a user from opening a .exe file? (downloaded through internet explorer if you suspect it has something to do with the browser) but i cannot seem to think of what part of windows is actually monitoring this except for DEP maybe but i have never seen it do this before so i have no idea? the unblock method from the properties of the file does not work in this case. Searching the net does not result in any solutions to this but any suggestions would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________


Aries A+ Hardware and Software Certified
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 07:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Maybe download it thru Firefox or Opera? Other than that i will have to think about this one. That is all i can think off right off hand.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 08:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

I think it's DEP, it happens when you open most exe files, at least for me from another computer, it acts as if you're in IE trying to download a file right? tho you don't have the save option just open right? if so that's DEP, I think there's a setting in the boot.ini file at the end of each boot statement, though I don't know the correct syntax for the settings.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 04-22-2006, 11:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select.


Is that above selected?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.