DirectX of Doom - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2005, 09:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default DirectX of Doom

So folks, I was browsing my Dxdiag earliers and noticed this under the Directx tab:



Thing is, I can't actually reinstall Dx9c as it starts to install and then tells me the 'Components are ready for use'. I'm just wondering whether this message is anything to worry about?

Any help you could give would be great, cheers.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 09:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Have you tried to extract the DX Setup and then copy the system.dll to your windows/system32 folder? That might work. It is the only option i can think of besides updateing your video drivers and seeing if that will help fix the problem.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 10:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
void's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 198
Default

I'd try to reinstall. But even if you didn't I don't think its a problem because of the other system.dll.
void is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 11:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

I tried a reinstall as stated earliers Void, however, I just noticed that you are correct in saying their is a 'duplicate' .dll

So, reckon I should ignore it or try that manual implementation?
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 12:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well as the saying goes. Never hurts to try. I would try it out and see if it does anything for you. If not then no lose. But if it does then you got it back. I have heard there is a way to uninstall DX. You could try that and then a reinstall. That might work.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 03:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I'd just create a system restore point and try doing it manually. If your comp messes up then just restore it. If it works, then hooray for you.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.