DirectX 10 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2007, 12:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default DirectX 10

Hey guys, I just bought a laptop with Vista Premium that came with DX 10. Anyways, the issue is, whenever I put Effects Detail on Fable:the lost chapters anywhere above 0 the game freezes. Other then that it will play full settings,

Anyways, a friend at work say that DX 10 has issues where it is not fully compatible with DX 9.0c games, and once he removed DX 10 and installed DX 9.0c it worked perfectly.

Anyways, does anyone else have any input on this?

Any help is appreciated.

-Josh
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 08:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: DirectX 10

There is some problems with this right now. DX10 can only emulate DX9. So sometimes errors occur. Get the DX9 runtime..
Download details: DirectX End-User Runtime

Install this. It wont overwrite your DX10 install but will allow you to play DX9 games with little to no problems.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 11:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: DirectX 10

What performance has the laptop?
If it's the one you discribe in your signature, i don't think it's a hardware problem. Likely it's a Vista bug or something.
__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 12:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: DirectX 10

Quote:
Originally Posted by mssssee2 View Post
What performance has the laptop?
If it's the one you discribe in your signature, i don't think it's a hardware problem. Likely it's a Vista bug or something.
Why is everything a Vista bg with you? It isnt a Vista bug. This is a known emulation error with some DX9 cards trying to use DX10. It isnt a Vista bug it is a DX bug.

The solution i gave is the best knwn working solution for it. Just cause you dont like Vista doesnt mean the rest of the population has to dislike it as well. Stop trying to blame everyting on Vista.

Sorry to go off but my god. Everytime there is a thread like this you always chime in with the same thing. Vista bug. Vista sucks. We get it you dont like Vista.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 02:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default Re: DirectX 10

Doesn't fix the issue.
__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 04:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: DirectX 10

Have you checked the Fable website to see if M$ has put out a Vista patch yet? It could jsut be waiting on that. As i said the solution igave is the best know fix. Since it didnt work you probably need a patch to get the Effects working.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 04-28-2007, 06:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Geek Squad
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788
Default Re: DirectX 10

The game company is owned by M$...
__________________

__________________
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COD 2 crash MrCoffee Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-09-2007 04:38 PM
When installing Directx.................. jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-04-2007 03:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.