dindows? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2004, 10:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Angry dindows?

I'm getting a blue screen fault error that says dindows etc..
Is this indicating a hardware or software issue?

Windows 98 on a Dell Inspiron 5000

Thx!
__________________

mntechuser is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 10:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

when do you get this error, upon bootup??
try booting in safe mode and see if you got the same message
__________________

xotix is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 11:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

is it actually saying dindows or did you mistype windows twice?

If it says dindows, it could very well be a fase BSOD, and I would advise a virus scan!
ADZ is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 11:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Well...I removed the HDD from the laptop and added it as a secondary master on my lab machine and scanned for both viruses and spyware. Results showed no viruses but some spyware. I installed it back into the laptop and rescanned the drive again and all was clean.

Then I shut down all processes and it quit giving me the error. The laptop is running crappy Norton stuff including a firewall which I believe may be the issue.

Anyhow, I think the issue is solved.

Still don't know where "dindows" comes from. Yes, it showed "dindows" not "windows". Strange eh...
mntechuser is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 01:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

"dindows" used to show up a lot in the days of 3.x and 95, with a small rash of decompiled copies of windows, known simply as "dindows" for "decompiled-windows".

I'm not saying this is the cause for your "dindows" message, though. Just a stupid fact.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 01:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Could that be a leftover from an upgrade from 95 to 98? I noticed the boot partition says Win95.
__________________

mntechuser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.