diffrence between symantec and Macfee antivirus softwares - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2005, 03:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2
Default diffrence between symantec and Macfee antivirus softwares

what is the diffrence between symantec antivirus s/w and Macfee antivirus s/w ?
please mail me at vvsha@rediffmail.com,vvsha1980@yahoo.co.in
__________________

shabeer is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 09:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Both suck. Get avast: www.avast.com
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-10-2005, 09:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Technically there's not much difference, but in-use differences are clear.

1. Norton is extremely powerful and great...but mostly only if you're on a network or in an office network. The bandwidth loads on your machine from the Norton-AV real-time-protection process are huge! It hovers between 3 and 19 megs on your system, and if you're running a scan, you might as well go watch TV.
2. McAfee is nice, and cheaper, and is geared towards personal use verses Norton's network focus. The problem here is that McAfee is buggy, slow to update, and doesn't have as large a user-base to help identify problems and viruses. McAfee is also pretty stoggy about being installed on other machines, while Norton loads up anywhere.
3. Both applications will keep you safer than doing without, of course. I would choose between the two on how you like the GUI, as the protection is about the same. Of course, no AV is enough. You should have a firewall somewhere. If you have SP2, use SP2's firewall and you'll be fine. If not, get one from the web.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.