Different RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2005, 01:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 42
Default Different RAM

I was wondering weither i can have two different types of RAM in my computer at the same time. I would have 2 x 512mb in the two white slots, and 2 X 256mb in the two black slots. One of my friends said that its ok to try it out as the worst thing that can happen is that your computer goes 'beep beep', one of my other friends however, told me that my computer could totaly break if i were to try it and it didnt work.
__________________

avireX is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 01:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

It should be fine.

It sounds like you have a mobo that supports dual channel. As long as pair up the sticks (like you plan on doing) then you should be ok.

The only problem you might run into is if your RAM is different speeds (frequencies). Whatever the speed the slower stuff runs at, the rest of the RAM will run at that speed as well.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 42
Default

I think ill just completely replace the RAM then, as my new ones will be 800Mhz and the ones i have currently are 166Mhz.
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.66GHz
Asus NVIDIA GeForce 6800GT 128mb
120GB Internal HD / 160GB External HD
Pioneer DVR-109XLB 16 x 16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter
TwinMOS 1GB (2x512MB) DDR PC3200 Dual Channel Kit
Razer DiamondBack Magma 1600dpi Gaming Mouse
Dell Ultrasharp 1905FP 19\" performance LCD Flat Panel Monitor
avireX is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 01:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I can almost guarentee you that your new ones arent 800MHz.

Check the packaging or labels again.

You probably meant that it is 200MHz, (400MHz DDR).

And if you do have 2 different speeds, then just get rid of the slower stuff, and keep the fast stuff.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 42
Default

Well this is the RAM http://www.twinmos.com/dram/dram_p_d...nel_ddr400.htm

Whats better, 1.5gig of ram and 166Mhz or 1gig of ram with 200Mhz?
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.66GHz
Asus NVIDIA GeForce 6800GT 128mb
120GB Internal HD / 160GB External HD
Pioneer DVR-109XLB 16 x 16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter
TwinMOS 1GB (2x512MB) DDR PC3200 Dual Channel Kit
Razer DiamondBack Magma 1600dpi Gaming Mouse
Dell Ultrasharp 1905FP 19\" performance LCD Flat Panel Monitor
avireX is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 02:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I would go with 1G. I've been in the same boat as you, and I found that I benchmarked a little better with 1G PC3200 rather than 1.5G PC2700
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 02:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
majistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434
Default

1G of the 200MHZ DDR400.
__________________
majistic is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 02:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default Re: Different RAM

Quote:
Originally posted by avireX
the worst thing that can happen is that your computer goes 'beep beep', one of my other friends however, told me that my computer could totaly break if i were to try it and it didnt work.
It would be very rare if the wrong DIMMS were put in, but back in the day if you were trying to put in EDO ram that could happen.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 06-08-2005, 03:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 42
Default

ok thanks for your help. Is the TwinMos ram any good for gaming btw?

PS: just realised i posted this in the totaly wrong forum... sorry.
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium 4 CPU 2.66GHz
Asus NVIDIA GeForce 6800GT 128mb
120GB Internal HD / 160GB External HD
Pioneer DVR-109XLB 16 x 16 DVD±RW Dual Layer ReWriter
TwinMOS 1GB (2x512MB) DDR PC3200 Dual Channel Kit
Razer DiamondBack Magma 1600dpi Gaming Mouse
Dell Ultrasharp 1905FP 19\" performance LCD Flat Panel Monitor
avireX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.