Dial-up Networking takes abt 7sec b4 dialing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2004, 08:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default Dial-up Networking takes abt 7sec b4 dialing

Why does dial-up networking take or wait about 7 seconds before dialing a dial-up number?

*Uses tone dialing. Area code and dialing properties and all the advanced options in the server types tab are unchecked except Enable Software Compression and TCP/IP.
__________________

piggysmile is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 09:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

i believe its trying to initialize the lines before dialing. i may be wrong...
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 12:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 172
Default

Yep it's checking line status. It might be phone line noise.
heavywx is offline  
Old 09-08-2004, 05:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default

phone line noise for 7 secs? shouldnt it check the phone line for only about a couple of seconds?
piggysmile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.