desperate help needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2006, 02:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default desperate help needed

ive just had a brand new :

Samsung
250GB
IDE
HDD

bougth for me, firstly ive never installed a factory new HDD before so maybe later you could help me but for now my main worry is, my BIOS will nto detect it? am i doing something wrong the jumpers are fine. i know of the IDE size limter bnug thing which i think my PC has as its old so is there anything i cna download to fix the limter? if so a link plz... i have SMART enabled and still nothing
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 05:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

ok well i have eneabled my HDD and and currently using it in windows, however my computer says the drive is only 232GB in size when it is actaully 250GB,
i plan to do this the easy way but i have a few Q's

i plan to split the HDD into 2 partitions (this HDD is a slave BTW)
my Q's are

can i partiotion without an XP disk or a Floppy disk drive as neither of mine work ATM?

can i acces both partitions in windows at the same time, as if it were 2 disks?

any reccomened partition utility's?

thanks in advance
__________________

__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 05:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to crh0872 Send a message via Yahoo to crh0872
Default

all hard drives are not really what they say they are in gb

250 gb = 232 gb

there's lots of ways to partition a hard drive, no u dont need that. i'd buy/download partition commander, it's probably the easiest to use for partitioning, and yes, the 2 partitions will appear as D and E in windows
crh0872 is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 05:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

thanks im dow... buying partition commander now ...ahem...lol
anyways thanks im such a noob at hard drives i just havnt much experience with them ill post back when i am partitioning coz no doubt ill have more Q's
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 06:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

that app you reccomened wasnt rle workin out for me so i tried partition magic and now i have my 232GB HDD as

2 partitions of 116GB each so at least now i havnt got to worry about that IDE limit thanks for your help
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 12-18-2006, 09:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 51
Send a message via AIM to crh0872 Send a message via Yahoo to crh0872
Default

yeah np partition magic is good too but partition commander is incredibly easy
__________________

__________________
caLMaN

Asus P4P 800-E Deluxe, Intel P4 3.0 GHz
1GB RAM, ATI Radeon X1300 pro 256 mb
20GB maxtor, 250GB western digital
crh0872 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.