desktop shortcuts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2004, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 173
Default desktop shortcuts

at work we use win2k and i'm having trouble with desktop short cuts not saving when the computer is rebooted or i relog on. it's a generic signon we all use.
any ideas/suggestions that can keep the shortcuts?
__________________

__________________
e6700 @ 3.0ghz stock cooling
bfg nforce 680i
dual bfg 8800gtx
Corsair XMS2-6400 C4 TwinX PC2-6400 2GB
Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 16MB Cache SATA-II x2
Enermax Galaxy 850W
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue 2000dpi Gaming Mouse
Saitek Eclipse 2 Illuminated Keyboard
NEC LCD20WGX2 Silver Widescreen 20" TFT Monitor
crward is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 02:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

There's no reason why a shortcut placed on your desktop should disappear suddenly unless one of two situations:

1) the shortcut icon has purposely been deleted or

2) in a multi-user OS, you could be logged under a different user and thus you could be looking at someone else's desktop.

Since you say all the users in your office use the same logon; it's probably the former and not the latter.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 03:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

if you are logging on to a domain, the permissions could be set not to save the settings....I think...
ADZ is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 05:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 57
Default

yep i agree, we have the same problem at school, all the C:\ drives of the PC's are wiped at start-up which can delete saved documents which is a bithch if you save is in the wrong place in the first place, it is probably the same with the icons and desktop,

another reason could be that the people who log on after you like to have a clean desktop so clean all your newly placed icons there!!?
__________________
AMD 2500+, 512mb Mem, 160GB (2xSATA 80GB in RAID0 array), K7N2G-ILSR (using on-board graphics and sound (for the moment ;-) ))

How many windows \"errors\" can there be??!!!
CacheUK is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 02:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

Yes, schools and other coorporate arrangements often implement programs such as "deep freeze". The program deletes all uknown files and reverts all changed settings/files back to the origionally frozen state or as said by the libraries at startup.

Domains generally don't save desktop shortcuts.
__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 04:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 173
Default

so is there a way round this? it gets annoying have to do the shortcuts every time i use the pc. i've spoke to the IT department and frankly they suck *** big time, if you call through with a problem the answer is always the same-, REBOOT!
__________________
e6700 @ 3.0ghz stock cooling
bfg nforce 680i
dual bfg 8800gtx
Corsair XMS2-6400 C4 TwinX PC2-6400 2GB
Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 16MB Cache SATA-II x2
Enermax Galaxy 850W
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue 2000dpi Gaming Mouse
Saitek Eclipse 2 Illuminated Keyboard
NEC LCD20WGX2 Silver Widescreen 20" TFT Monitor
crward is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 05:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 57
Default

nope... not legally anyway!! - unles you can speak to the "suck ***" IT dep. and get them to turn it off... the problem is that all people logging onto the generic user name will have your icons... not necassarily a good thing!!
__________________

__________________
AMD 2500+, 512mb Mem, 160GB (2xSATA 80GB in RAID0 array), K7N2G-ILSR (using on-board graphics and sound (for the moment ;-) ))

How many windows \"errors\" can there be??!!!
CacheUK is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.