Desktop IE shortcut problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2004, 11:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 14
Default Desktop IE shortcut problem

I have a desktop Internet Explorer shortcut to a site I use daily. All of a sudden it has developed an error and every time I click on the desktop icon it opens my printer dialogue and not the webpage I want. Can anyone help? I am running Win ME.

Cheers
__________________

surfinsurveyor is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 11:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Look at the properties of the shortcut. Also, can you just delete the shortcut and create a new one from your favorites?

-Mike
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 11:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 14
Default Desktop IE shortcut problem

Thanks Mike. I can delete the shortcut and have tried creating a new one but that just does the same. The properties seem fine and described as an internet shortcut. Attributes set to Archive.

Keith
surfinsurveyor is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 12:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

Theres a file you delete, its a temp file. Jeeze i canot remember what it is. I wll research.
ADZ is offline  
Old 04-02-2004, 10:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16
Default

Go there from the address bar and make a new one and delete the old.
Where is it ? Ill send you one.
zigandazag is offline  
Old 04-03-2004, 11:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 21
Default

Hi surfinsurveyor nice to meet you!
This type of MS IE errors is hardly to fix.
Usually I just update IE with new version and it helps
wade is offline  
Old 04-04-2004, 02:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

wouldn't it just be easier to go to the web site and then bookmark it in your favorites? that's what i do to all sites i traffick a lot
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.