Desktop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2003, 12:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1
Send a message via AIM to Joyce1785
Question Desktop

I had a problem when I was playing around with some themes. I don't know what I did wrong, but now I have the outline around the text on my desktop,under the icons, like what I had when I had windows 98 and wondered how to get rid of it. I checked everything I can find, but can't figure out how to make it go away. There must be something that will fix it, but I'm a beginner and don't know if I'm missing something. Other users on my 'puter don't have this on their desktops and I can't find what's different about mine. Please help me someone... am I missing something simple??

Joyce1785 is offline  
Old 05-31-2003, 07:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828

you mean a bg like black or blue on your icons text on your desktop?

3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 05-31-2003, 10:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 34

well, it may also be from your folder options, you may have chosen the online 1-click method, which outlines all of the icons and text like as if it were a link to a certain site. If I am correct, you can go to:
Start > Settings > Folder Options

Choose Custom Options which would usually be the last option on the bottom. Click on settings and then go down to the bottom where it says "click items as follows" and hit the bubble where the "double-click" option is.

Hopefully this is what you are describing. If not I will look like a "jackass"

Then finish up by clicking on Apply or OK. Whichever of the two are there.
Geniusdude is offline  
Old 06-02-2003, 08:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

click start ,, when the start menu box opens,, somewhere blank on that window,, I always use the bottom area,, do a right click,,

the only window that should open now should say Properties,,

move cursor to it, normal left click,, now you are in desktop customizing,,

in the new window you have two choices,,

Start Menu

CLASSIC start menu

choose START MENU,,

hit ok,

look again,, any better??

Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.