Dell software package - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2007, 03:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Dell software package

i have a complete software package for dell dimension but have no idea what model it came from.
what happend is my roommate got his computer stolen out of a storage and all was left is the software and keyboard
so he gave it to me and id sell it but donno what pc it goes to is there anyway to find out?
Windows XP home edition SP2 P/N H8527
Dell E773c color monitor user doc,drivers
dell dimension resource cd
dell tools system software
cyberlink powerdvd software
sonic recordnow 7.1 LE software
V.9X(capable)/56k data/fax modem software
wordperfect productivity pack

all cds are still sealed in the paper cases

anyone have similar pc and can help me out?
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 02:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

can someone help me with this?
how to identify this software package
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 06:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

That is just the basic package that comes with most Dell PC's. I even got it with mine and i know a few tohers that got it with thiers and they dont have the same type of Dell as me.

So basically it is a basic software package from Dell.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 11:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

its from dell throw it in the trash where all dell products belong
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 01:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

That has got to be the worst statement i have heard today.

I have run my Dell for over 3 years now with absolutely no problem. I have upgraded almost everything except the CPU/mobo. that includes the PSU which people say is impossible but it was just like a regular switch. No propritary stuff like everyone complains about.

Maybe people should start looking toward the users and not the machines. The Machines only do what they are told by the users.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 02:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

those products will work on any dell machine.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 07:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 487
Send a message via AIM to benzimm86
Default

Makaveli213 other than your dell, how many have you dealt with? I bought a dell laptop 6 years ago and the thing almost immediately started having problems, keyboard going out, monitor pixels going out. I have worked with many dell desktops and laptops since then. They use cheap parts, their customer support sucks ***. as far as your dell working with non proprietary parts, well you must have gotten one of the few models that some case mods are not required.
__________________
amd athlon xp2100+
asus a7v333 mb
nvidia geforce4mx 420 64 mb
thermaltake volcano 12
1 gig ddr pc2100
thermaltake purepower 420w psu
dvd-rw
audigy 2 platinum sound card
benzimm86 is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 08:35 AM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I have worked now with over 100 Dell PC's and while yes their Support sucks the PC is good.

Start with a fresh install. That is always the best thing to do with any pre-made system.

I do all the support for several companies and they deal a lot with Dell PC's since they are easy to afford. While they dont always use the best parts they are decent PC's.

I have fixed a Dell PC over 5 years ago that is still working to this day. So as i said it isnt the PC it is more user error on things going wrong.

Dead Pixels happens on many monitors not jsut Dell's. I have seen it on Samsung among other leading LCD's. Even on delivery. The keyboard going out could have been due to the cable coming loose on shipping. Also a split in the cable among other things.

I am not saying that it is your fault but a lot of times when i hear about people complaining about Dell PCs it is cause they caused 99% of the problem with some action they took.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 12:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

A Dell is a Dell. It will do no more than what it was bought for. If you want a customizable machine, Dell ain't for you.

The main problem with Dells are all the crapware they shove into their machines. It usually takes longer to clean it all out than it does to update the Windows on it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.