Dell reinstallation disk - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2003, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Default Dell reinstallation disk

Can anyone tell me how to use my Dell reinstallation disk on my new non Dell computer?
Thanks
__________________

psivert is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

You can't.
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 10-30-2003, 07:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I am not sure about Dell, however Gateway has the same sort of "compatability check" that it does to make sure that it is a Gateway PC. I have a friend that I walked through this process and he was able to do it.
You need a Windows 98 boot disk or a bootdisk from www.bootdisk.com
Boot with this disk and create a partition using the fdisk program located on the disk. After you create the partition, use the "format c: /s" command to format the disk and make it bootable. After this boot with the disk and choose "Windows 98 with CD-ROM support" (or something like that....key here is CD-ROM support.
After it loads, goto that drive ie, D: or E: (whichever is the CD-ROM drive). You'll know that it's the cd-rom drive because it will have a i386 directory when you type the dir command. Then you want to run an executable on the disk. So let's say that the CD-ROm drive is E:. After booting to the A: drive type:
e: (enter)
cd i386 (enter)
winnt (enter)
When the setup starts, then it will ask you where the install files are located. It will default to "E:\i386". Change the path to just "E:\" and then it should run.
I've done this several times before with other vendor disks.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 10-31-2003, 11:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Just keep in mind that anytime you are doing a cross-install (an OEM disk to a different computer) you are just asking for problems.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.