Dell Operating System Disc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2005, 07:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
Default Dell Operating System Disc

Hey,

I have a Dell Dimension 2350 that came w/ Win XP. However, I'm ugrading my system w/ a new HD and need to put the OS back on it. Will I be able to do it w/ this disc?

Just b/c i know XP needs to be activated and it can only be done once. Also, I dont think Dell gave me a CD key or anything like that. The disc isn't like a legit XP disc... looks like some Dell junk. LOL

Thanks
__________________

billru44 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Okay you can do this. After you reinstall XP it will ask for you to activate. Go ahead. You only made changed to the HDD not anything major like a mother board or anythign so you should not get any problems. If you do just call M$ and tell them that you installed a new HDD and new a new key for install.

As for the key it should be on the side or back of the machine somewhere. You should see a little sticker that Dell put on there that has the OS name and serial.

XP activation can be done more than once. I have used the same XP disc for installs more than a dozen times and not once have been asked to activate. It isnt a corp edition either.

The Disc that Dell gave you was just "made" specifically for you machine. What i mean by that is it has most, if not all, the drivers you need to have everything working when XP is fully installed. The disc is catered to your specific machine.

Hope this helps. let me know if you have any more questions.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 09:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

the dell disc that I have can install xp on any dell and I don't have to activate them. I use to have a gateway cd (I still have the cd, but not the computer) that did the same thing
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 11:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
Default

so what if i want to build a new CPU from scratch. Can I still use that Dell XP OS disc?

Or will i be forced to buy another copy of XP?
billru44 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 12:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well you can but you will have issues. It might not activate. You would most likely have to call M$ to get a new key or to get it activated at that point.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 01:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Makaveli213
Well you can but you will have issues. It might not activate. You would most likely have to call M$ to get a new key or to get it activated at that point.
exactly.

I don't know if the dell will work on another computer beside their own, but the gateway did and you have to activate it. I use use it to fix other people's computers. then when I went to activate it and it wouldn't go through, I would put their original key back in with the change product key option (it wouldn't accept their key during the install, so I would put mine in).

but it never need activation on my gateway
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 02:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: Dell Operating System Disc

Quote:
Originally posted by billru44
Hey,

I have a Dell Dimension 2350 that came w/ Win XP. However, I'm ugrading my system w/ a new HD and need to put the OS back on it. Will I be able to do it w/ this disc?

Just b/c i know XP needs to be activated and it can only be done once. Also, I dont think Dell gave me a CD key or anything like that. The disc isn't like a legit XP disc... looks like some Dell junk. LOL

Thanks
isnt it on the side of the case?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.