Deleting A Missing File - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2005, 12:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Default Deleting A Missing File

Ok, here's the deal - I help a friend run a site and the "net" command stopped working on the machine. I went and checked for net.exe and it was nowhere to be found (should be in \System32). This is a 2000 Server, btw.

So we got a copy from another 2k server and went to copy it over and it wouldn't allow us to do so. I have a screen shot of a few file tests:

1. dir /s net.exe - the file isn't in System32 per the OS
2. dir /s net2.exe - this is our copy - and you can see that it's there
3. copy net2.exe net.exe - this fails, no useful error
4. rename net2.exe net.exe - this fails because the OS thinks there's already a "net.exe" file
5. del net.exe - this fails because the OS thinks there's *NOT* a "net.exe" file

Screen Shot Of Command Prompt


I rebooted the machine and ran a chkdsk on it (took forever) and that didn't solve the problem. Since this is a production machine about 550 miles away from me, I'm somewhat limited to Terminal Services and can't do fun things like boot into safe mode, slave out the disk or boot off of a CD into the Emergency Recovery Console.

Does anyone have any tools or suggestions that might shed some light on this? I'm starting to run out of ideas.

BMEMike is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 03:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
office politics's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics

why not just run net2?

office politics is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 04:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3

We have temporarily moved net.exe to the WINNT folder, so we can use the NET command. In addition to that, there's the net1.exe file in \System32 that we could use... but I want to "fix the machine" - not just ignore the problem.

I understand you're looking to give me this functionality back, but that's not the problem... the problem is the inability to copy net.exe back into the \System32 folder without receiving these very odd errors.

Thanks for the suggestion though.
BMEMike is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 07:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3

Friendly bump...
BMEMike is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.