defrag error - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2006, 11:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default defrag error

im trying to defrag my friends computer but get the /chkdsk error i have tried running the chkdisk /f but i get an error involving ntfs, ive tried defragging in safe mode too but nothing works ive also tried diffrent defraggers, also the computer has more than 10% of hd space available- Thanks
__________________

__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 08:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

ntfs errors probably indicate the hard drive is on its way out. Go to the event viewer:

start>control panel>admin tools>event viewer>system

then in that list look for warnings and errors.

Also find out the make of the hard drive and check their websites for disk checking software such as maxtors powermax.

I would make sure to back up all your data asap.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 05:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

i think you should back up all the data you can then preform a low level format on the drive then run a check disk to verify if you still don't get errors and if you do you know the drive is bad.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 12:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to homerj14
Default

thanks for the replies!
__________________
My BF2 account Homerj14
Support our troops...
AIM-House300zx
homerj14 is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 03:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Btw you have to have +15% free space not +10%.
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.