Default Passwords - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2007, 06:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Default Default Passwords

I have discovered something really creepy Today. Apperantly my friend Ben Plaut discovered some sort of "Default Password" for Windows NT on Usenet. He booted into safe mode and entered a password for my administrator account in safe mode and he got in.

I don't know how he did it, but he just did. I know for a fact that it isn't my own password because my administrator password is shorter than what he entered.

I don't require the password but rather some form of a counter measure. Enabling a Hard Drive password via my BIOS makes sure he can't get in but I need to be sure that there is no way he can enter this password again.

Oh and on the same note, I heard that Microsoft was trying to keep this password on the down-low, and that those who've released this password publicly have been silenced, perhaps Microsoft is keeping this password for their own benefit?
__________________

phandentium is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 10:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default

What version of NT? Is it pre-NT 4.0?
__________________

__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 11:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

This could also be for those who dont change the password during install.

I know for a fact that during all my installs i change all passwords from default to prevent this from happening. Let alone having a BIOS password.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 12:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Default

Well it's for NT 5.1 meaning Windows XP, well I saw this default password on Windows XP but I heard that it works on Windows 2000 as well.

I called Microsoft and they confirmed it to me.

They said a few things, if they told me it doesn't exist then they get in big federal trouble. However if they told me the password they would also get in some deep trouble. They wouldn't provide any other information.

So the password exists, it's not a bug, Microsoft knows about it. The question is, why did they not do anything about the password?
phandentium is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 01:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

As i stated it is most likely for those who do NOT change it on install. I bet you can send me the password and it will NOT work on my system since i have changed my passwords.

The default password is nothing. Just hit enter. It is that way when you get a OEM system from Dell or where ever. Just click that accoutn and hit enter. Either that or Admin. But most of the time it isnt even set.

So point being, when you install make sure to set a Admin password. That way you avoid this problem.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 05:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Default

I have set an admin password already. I even stated this earlier as well.

Let me rephrase this, I have an administrator password, why would I not. My friend entered another password and got in, it WASN'T my own password because it was too big.
__________________

phandentium is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.