Default hompage for all users? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2004, 10:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default Default hompage for all users?

Hello! How would I go about setting a default home page for every user who logs onto the machine? It would be in a Domain Controller env, and a client PC. Basically I would like it so when say charlie logs on and launches IE it goes to www.yahoo.com and then down the road when beth logs on and launches IE it goes to www.yahoo.com rather than www.msn.com or whatever...

Now yes you could simply go and set the default home page for each user once logged on, but not in my case. In my case we have a GPO set for the users that prohibits them from setting a home page, accessing internet options, run command, regedit, and basically anything you would need to be able to set a home page. So there has to be a way???
__________________

Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 10:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

it's done in group policy. If you are useing GPO's already to control the IE function then, you only need to add the following to it...
in group policy editor, GPEDIT.msc, you modify the following entry...User configuration, windows settings, internet explorer maintenance, URLs, Important URLs. Check the box for customize homepage, and then enter the homepage you want to use.

Then update the GPO with these settings and apply it to the domain...
Good luck
__________________

Inaris is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 11:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Ok I'll give that a shot! thanks! Does the gpedit differ on the server version of windows? I tried looking for that path locally on my machine (since I'm not at that job right now) and couldnt locate it.... via gpedit.msc Is there a way to do this on the local machine rather than a policy? hacking the registry or local policy or something of the like? thanks!
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-30-2004, 11:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

there are registry hacks yes. Buy if you are working in an AD environment, why do that? the GPO's work so much better...
Inaris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.