default browser - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2003, 02:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via ICQ to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via AIM to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via Yahoo to LaO_xTc_RaVeR
Default default browser

how do i change my default browser
__________________

LaO_xTc_RaVeR is offline  
Old 07-30-2003, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 153
Default

Assuming your using WinXP, you us properties of start button, advanced, and change the selection for browser.

Under anything else, IF your using Netscape or Mozilla, open preferences, default, and click were it says make default browser.
__________________

__________________
COMPtia A+
COMPtia Network+
Quantum is offline  
Old 07-30-2003, 09:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default Non-technical way...

I don't know if this is how it works for others, but when I open a browser that is not my default, it always asks if I want to make it the default browser.

The easy way?

Dave
Dave is offline  
Old 07-30-2003, 09:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default Re: default browser

Quote:
Originally posted by LaO_xTc_RaVeR
how do i change my default browser

what browser do you want to set as your default?
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-31-2003, 01:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via ICQ to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via AIM to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via Yahoo to LaO_xTc_RaVeR
Default

internet explorer
LaO_xTc_RaVeR is offline  
Old 07-31-2003, 01:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

sorry, i should have asked more earlier,..whats your current default browser?
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-31-2003, 02:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via ICQ to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via AIM to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via Yahoo to LaO_xTc_RaVeR
Default

netscape
LaO_xTc_RaVeR is offline  
Old 07-31-2003, 02:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

alright,...... in IE,..go to the Tools menu and select Internet Options. On the Programs tab,
there's a checkbox to have IE check to see if it's the default browser.
make sure this is checked, IE would then allow you to set it as your default the next time you start it and you should be given an option.

keep us posted
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.