De - Partitioning - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2004, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lrr
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
Default De - Partitioning

Alright so i recently partitioned my hd so i could install windows xp 64 (total flop) and now i want it gone. problem? i have files on that side and not enough left on the "origonal" C: side 2.2gb left and i need to move over bout 35gb from X: is there a way to either clear out windows and de-partition with out loosing my data. or replace it with linux, again with out loosing any of my files. i have a dvd burner so i could archive but who wants to spend the time to put 35gb onto about 7 disks?
__________________

Lrr is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 12:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default Re: De - Partitioning

Quote:
Originally posted by Lrr
Alright so i recently partitioned my hd so i could install windows xp 64 (total flop) and now i want it gone. problem? i have files on that side and not enough left on the "origonal" C: side 2.2gb left and i need to move over bout 35gb from X: is there a way to either clear out windows and de-partition with out loosing my data. or replace it with linux, again with out loosing any of my files. i have a dvd burner so i could archive but who wants to spend the time to put 35gb onto about 7 disks?
I don't see any way out without purchasing a program to do it
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 05:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

PartitionMagic will prolly do it for u, use the "merge" option and the files shouldn't be erased (not sure about this).

ok, I need more info, are the 37GB and the 2.2GB partition on the same drive?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 05:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

U need PartitionMagic 8 to do the merge safely. But its much safer to hook up an extra drive to ur comp and backup the data. I would always backup data when merging, moving or resizing partitions.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 09:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lrr
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
Default

there are 2 partitions on a 160gb drive each about 57gb on C: drive i have only 2gb left.

And i do have partition magic 8.0

And i dont suppose theres and way to get rid of win 64 with out a reformat?
Lrr is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 10:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

can't u copy the important files from C: to the second partition?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 06:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lrr
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
Default

C: has now onaly 7gb left on it And D:has 27gb left and 23 used. and C: is the partition which i would like to keep intact as it has my prymary os (xp). D: tho i would like to keep the video files i have on it in tacct. if possible.
can one delete windos?
Lrr is offline  
Old 10-05-2004, 06:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I don't think u can delete windows without formatting. U have to backup the files on the partition u want 2 format somehow, eithe on DVD or CD. And then merge the partitions.

use PQmagic.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-06-2004, 09:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lrr
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 71
Default

is it possible to merge partitions with files on it or dose one have to wipe cleen first?
Lrr is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 03:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

U can do it while keeping the data. Partition Magic will move the data and put them at the start of your harddrive.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.