Dc++ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2004, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
m3z
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to m3z
Default Dc++

Does any one know how to use this program? I can get connected to the hubs but after that i have no idea on how to use it

Can some one give me a step by step guide on how to use this please.

Thank You
__________________

__________________
Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-8KNXP SATA 8X/4X AGP PRO
Processor:Pentium 4 3.4
Video: NVidia TNT2 RIVA, Sound Blaster Live
Ram: 4 gig of Kingston DDR Ram (3200)
Hard Drive:maxtor x2 120 gig ATA133 w/ 8meg buffer
m3z is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

I tried it once...but then didnt get into it...I ended up giving up and going with Soul Seek.
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 09:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

i think the program is pretty easy to use, just go into search, enable "only users with free slots", and look up whatever you need. if you cannot find it with DC++, it probably doesn't exist. all hubs have a share size qouta, if you meet that requirement you're in, if not you get booted.

DC++ isn't for n00bs who are used to the napster p2p copycats. the instructions are crystal clear, just RTFM. if you want someone to hold your hand, good luck. if you had a specific question like:

how do i set up port forwarding to allow active tranfer over passive tranfers?

i would definately guide you. btw if you are using broadband and have not setup your ports that is probably the reason you are not able to find any files at all.....because almost everybody is behind a firewall or router.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 10:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to anarchy
Default

Whenever I need anything, DC++ is where I go. I need a program I can't find on Google? DC++. Ya, connect to a hub with a lot of people, than press the magnifying glass icon on the top nav bar and search away. Make sure your sharing atleast 5 gigs and have 2 slots open. If not, you won't be able to connect to a lot of hubs.
__________________


Search TF!
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form></small></font></p></p>
anarchy is offline  
Old 05-09-2004, 11:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

the avaerage minimum size is usually 30GB. most of the good hubs have at least 50GB minimum file-share size. i have around 80GB shared. you can cheat some of the HUBs by ripping DVD's. eventually you will get caught if you stay connected long enough.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 12:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to anarchy
Default

There is one, top of the list in terms on users. It's called CZECHCHANNEL, it only requires 5GB, so that's what I use.

How the eff do you get 80 gigs to share?
__________________


Search TF!
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form></small></font></p></p>
anarchy is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 02:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Not that you should do this.....not at all. But you can throw all of your shared files into one folder and share it as 'Whatever'. Then map several drive letters to the same shared folder. Then, before connecting, add the different drive letters to the shared resources in DC++. I haven't done this myself, nor do I recommend it.

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 02:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

that shouldn't work. DC++ can detect duplicate files according to filenames no matter what location.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 02:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I just tried it with anarchy's suggested server. I'm "sharing" 200GB. But it's really only 10GB.
Perhaps some servers have a more strict policy.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-10-2004, 02:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to fiddler
Default

Remember not to share all your files. On many dc hubs you see some ppl sharing their personal files like emails and resumes containing their personal info and sometimes even passwords and login names to webservices. The solution to getting enough stuff to share isn't sharing your whole HD! I my self share a bit over 200Gb of anime! =)
__________________

fiddler is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.