data transfer rate?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-09-2007, 02:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default data transfer rate??

A computer consist of a CPU & an I/O device D, connected to MM,M viashared bus with a data bus width of one word. THe CPU can execute a max of 10 raised to 6 instrn/sec. An average instruction requires 5 machine cycles, 3 of which use the memory bus. A memory read/write oprn uses 1 machine cycle. Suppose that CPU is continously executing background pgms that require 45% of its instrn execution rate. But not any I/O instrn. Assume that the processor cycle =1 bus cycle. Now suppose very large bulk of data are to be transferred between M & D. If a pgmed I/O is used & each of one word I/O transfer requires the CPU to execute 2 instrns.
i) Estimate max I/O transfer of data in words/sec, possible thro D.
ii) Estimate the same rate if DMA transfer is used.
__________________

nitha_bk is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 02:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 195
Default

Is this some kind of school/college homework?
__________________

johnyB_24 is offline  
Old 01-09-2007, 03:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Yes ofcouse. If u can then pls do help me!!!!
nitha_bk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.