Data Restoration - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2006, 10:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to dan246
Default Data Restoration

I got a hard drive from a computer that "crashed". I wasn't told anything about what happened to the computer other than the fact that the disc was no longer bootable. I am now trying to salvage any data I can. I have the hard drive hooked into an external enclosure and connected via USB. Windows found the device, installed some drivers, and called it good. However there is no new hard disks listed in 'My Computer'. I brought up the device manager and opened up the properties.



I notice there are no volumes listed.



Anyone know what the problem is or any ways to fix it?
__________________

dan246 is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 10:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I just checked my 3 HDD and not one of them has anything listed in the Volume section. So i doubt that will explain anything. Plus 1 of my HDD is a External.

Try restarting with the HDD attached and see if XP will recognize it.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 10:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to dan246
Default

No it still didn't recognize it. Did you click "Populate" when you were checking to see if you had volumes listed? I checked my two internal drives the list that came up in Volumes seemed to coincide with my partitions.
dan246 is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 11:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It still doesnt show up for me since my drives are SATA i get some stupid error.

Seems as if the drive is in RAW format and needs to be formatted to be recognized.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 01:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to dan246
Default

I've got SATA drives too and it works for me. Anyway, yeah something is messed up. There were no partitions on the drive when I looked into it further. I'm using GetDataBack right now. I've got another 7 hours to go (maybe using my USB enclosure wasn't the best idea). I'll let you know how things turn out.
dan246 is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 01:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Hmm dont know why it dont work for me. The drives work perfectly. Well either way. It looks as if the partitions got deleted not that the drive was bad. Hope that application helps some.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 06:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you guy probably format over the 7.8 partition table/mbr part. this will give you the symptoms you guys are describing.

if you the original system and you can delete at least one partition (only if there are 2 or more) the other will revert back to a recognizable partition.

I had this issue when I instsll vista and media center on the same hdd. after I fix it (I deleted 1 partition and ran mbr restore.exe) I made sure the I kept 7.8 (8 meg) free on my vista partition on the next install.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 11:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to dan246
Default

Makaveli, GetDataBack worked like a charm. If you ever run into problems such as mine you may want to check it out. Eric, when I got the hd there were no partitions. I'm not sure what went on before I got the drive but whatever they did messed it up pretty bad. Anyway, it's all good now. Thanks for the help guys.
dan246 is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 11:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well i dont have to worry. I have my 3 HDD with several partitions on each HDD. That way each OS has their own partiton and my files are stored on the other 2 HDD's. So my files are stored on a totally different HDD than my OS's so if i lost that it would be due to a HDD failure. That i have backups of those files also. Run that daily.

Its good to hear that you were able to get the info back. Nothing worse than losing all the data you worked so hard to get.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.