Data Files - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2004, 12:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

Look I have 2 pc's both of em have winxp on fat-32 no dual boot nothing.... 2 partitions of one pc is on ntfs file system.... they are shared on the network .... my other pc can access the ntfs partition and so can I ....! so how come you are saying that "fat32 it will NOT access the local NTFS HDD" ..??? I know windows 98 interface cannot access it because it does not support it and I do not use any utility or anything to access my ntfs drives on my local hdd or frm the network...!
__________________

Vnet is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 11:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

When accessing over a network, thats fine. If booting with FAT32 and accessing a slave HDD in the SAME computer (not over a network) FAT32 is unable to recognize a NTFS table. Now, if you boot NTFS, u can read a FAT32, but not vice-a versa unless done from a network (like computer A can access data on computer B, its a part of the network model. Its like a small gateway in your system (not really, but its the closest I can think of). You may of installed something on a local system that has the secondary function of reading other file tables and not realized it because you use this for its main function. Anyhow, on a normal system it is not possible. Check out microsoft.com and do a lookup on it. Now when I say 'local' I mean the HDD that is in the same computer. So, to make it short, here is what it looks like you are saying:

You have 2 pc's A and B both are win9x with FAT32... so...
A = FAT32
B = FAT32

A and B are on a network
you have another PC we'll call C it has 2 partitions that uses NTFS

(A) FAT32
(C)NTFS
(B) FAT32

A and B can access C because they are accessing it via the network. C can access itself since, well, it's NTFS. Now, if it were like this:

(A) FAT32 <boot> NTFS 2nd drive
(C)NTFS
(B) FAT32

then computer A can boot and read computer C's NTFS, but can NOT read its own 2nd drive. Computer B can read both A and C (over a network). A cant because its local, OR is located on the SAME computer. You've got to remember that when accessing over a network you have alot of data interpretation going on, and the hardware in the computer will interpret what it needs. When accessing a drive in you're own system, though, its using its own logic to try and read something with out a interpreter.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-14-2004, 11:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Argh, sorry... got it backwards... change the NTFS with FAT32 Been working all day and my brain is rattling heheh
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 05:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 116
Default

hey thanx a bunch for all the explanation ... but you know on my pc A i have two hdd's ... the second hdd has an ntfs partition.... but i know wot you are trying to say.! you are saying that 1 hdd is on fat32<boot> and the other on NTFS<it is also bootable if its selected in the bios> the hdd 2 has file system NTFS and winxp is intalled i know wot your tryin to say ..... bcuz ntfs has a security sort of stuff you cant access it bcuz it doesn allow you to..!! is that it..?? my second hdd is not bootable but it does have an ntfs partition and it is accesable..! and i know all the softwares i have on my pc and none of them are the ones that do that sort of stuff..!!
Vnet is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 07:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

kind of... I thinks that I may of misunderstood what you were saying Remember also that it depends on what NTFS version that you are running. For example, if you had XP with fat32 AND NTFS, you'd have no problems. However, NT 4.0 will not read without either SP updates or 3rd party due to the way the files are organized/handled.

I think it would be SO much easier if I could just draw out a diagram
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 07-15-2004, 07:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

http://www.anandtech.com/guides/viewfaq.html?i=94

good info there Its what I've tried, very poorly I might add heheh, to say
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.