DAEMON Tools Not Installing, and Other Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2007, 01:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 21
Default DAEMON Tools Not Installing, and Other Problems

I recently ran into a few viruses, and it somehow took out DAEMON Tools. When I try to reinstall, it runs into an internal error and the installer shuts down. I am thinking that I am missing a lot of essential Windows files, because when I ran a scan before running windows during startup, it couldn't find a lot of objects.

What's wrong with the DAEMON Installer? Also, do I need to get these files back on the computer? How can I find out what they are, and where can I get them from and put all the core Windows files back on?
__________________

opus42no5 is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: DAEMON Tools Not Installing, and Other Problems

ya the toolbar..... never install their toolbar.... the rest is safe....
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 01:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: DAEMON Tools Not Installing, and Other Problems

if u read te installer the searchbar says, "Provides relevant advertising or something like that" u should have unchecked it during the installation
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 01:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: DAEMON Tools Not Installing, and Other Problems

its a bad toolbar.
I like the software but i dont why they had to provide that toolbar or searchbar, i cant exactly remember.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 02:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: DAEMON Tools Not Installing, and Other Problems

I don't get what you guys are mentioning... what toolbar? And how do I fix this? Thanks!
opus42no5 is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 04:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: DAEMON Tools Not Installing, and Other Problems

Here is a step by step walkthrough.
1- Open up the setup file
2-Click Next...youll be directed to user agreement.
3-Click I Agree...then it will install SPTD which will require you reboot.
4-Then you will have 3 check marks to select. It might be 4.
Just do not select the one that says something like searchbar. Or WhenUSearch. I cant remember.
I cant install it on the pc im on becase im at school and we have norton ghost and itll remove everything once i restart.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 04:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: DAEMON Tools Not Installing, and Other Problems

As soon as I click on "I Agree" it says "Internal setup error. Contact support." it was installed before, do you think an installed search bar is the problem? if so, how do i remove it?
opus42no5 is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 04:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: DAEMON Tools Not Installing, and Other Problems

Did you delete all of the old files which daemons tools left..

in C:/Program Files/Daemon Tools before you ran installer. Do you have an anti virus/firewall that maybe blocking it?
__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 04:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: DAEMON Tools Not Installing, and Other Problems

try downloading the SPTD file separate and install that first.
Then try installing daemon tools.

I just installed the newer version lik 2 weeks ago and I was getting an error. I cannot remember exactly what it was.
All i did was install the SPTD file first then it reboot your pc.
Then proceed with daemon tools.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 07:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 21
Default Re: DAEMON Tools Not Installing, and Other Problems

thanks, downloading the SPTD first and installing beforehand fixed the problem.

However, now when i run DAEMON Tools, I can't set a virtual drive letter what should i do
__________________

opus42no5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.