Curse you ME! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2005, 05:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default Curse you ME!

I was checking out the new iPod, and tried downloading the software for it. It turns out that it will only work on Windows 2000 or XP. I have tried downloading several Google programs, but....they only work on Windows 2000 or XP.

Is there any way to make these programs run on ME, or should I get a copy of 2000 or XP? If I do get a copy of 2000 or XP, would it be possible to set up my computer to run both the new operating system and ME or would 2000 do everthing ME does?
__________________

trekkie00 is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 09:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default

I'm pretty sure you can use real player with an ipod and it will run on windows me.
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 10-21-2005, 11:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Curse you ME!

Quote:
Originally posted by trekkie00
I was checking out the new iPod, and tried downloading the software for it. It turns out that it will only work on Windows 2000 or XP. I have tried downloading several Google programs, but....they only work on Windows 2000 or XP.

Is there any way to make these programs run on ME, or should I get a copy of 2000 or XP? If I do get a copy of 2000 or XP, would it be possible to set up my computer to run both the new operating system and ME or would 2000 do everthing ME does?
2000 and XP can do everything ME does and way more. ME was one of the worst OS's built by M$. I dont care for it at all. I dont even count that as an OS. No offense. I would consider upgrading. As for your question about "get a copy" it all depends on where you look or who you know.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 02:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

I agree, ME was an awful awful awful horrible terrible bad OS. XP is about a million and one times better. As far as scoring a copy, they're around you just have to know where to look. Otherwise, if you're a college student (or know some one who is) you can buy XP Pro from www.newegg.com for like $85 for an Academic copy. All you need is the school id so you can get the info and you're good. You could check that out.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 03:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Hey trekkie

I agree with the others. What a terrible OS. lol. You could run both XP and ME, but why would you :P ditch ME =D
slightly_slow is offline  
Old 10-22-2005, 08:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 656
Default

Get a program called XPLAY. It is compatible with windows me.
It is not free, but cheaper than an upgrade OS ($30)
Check it out http://www.welovemacs.com/6810xpla.html
__________________

dnoch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.