ctfmon.exe - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2007, 01:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default ctfmon.exe

Hello everyone
I have been everywhere on the net trying to find out about ctfmon.exe and how to remove it. From what I've read, it belongs to Microsoft Office XP, but, I don't have Microsoft Office XP on my computer... never have. They say that if it isn't from Microsoft Office XP, then it is a virus.
I have disabled ctfmon.exe many many times in the Start up, but, it keeps haunting me by appearing again.
If someone can help me out on this, I'll be eternally grateful !

Thank you so much in advance !

torie

My OS
Microsoft Windows XP
Home Edition
Version 2002
Service Pack 2
__________________

torio is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 01:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default Re: ctfmon.exe

Do you have any version of Office on your system?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 01:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: ctfmon.exe

Ctfmon.exe monitors the active windows and provides text input service support for speech recognition, handwriting recognition, keyboard, translation, and other alternative user input technologies.

Basically, its not needed. Do Ctrl + Alt + Del and end the process when you seen it.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 03:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: ctfmon.exe

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warez Monster View Post
Do you have any version of Office on your system?
No, that's what puzzles me, there are no office programs on my computer at all. There never was any in the beginning. I remember long ago ( or I thought so ) that when you installed Windows that there would be some kind of office programs installed at the same time, but, not from Windows XP. I reformatted last week and none of any were installed, and yet, that bloody ctfmon.exe keeps appearing.

Motoxer, I have been deleting it and it keeps coming back. It wouldn't bother so much if I knew for sure that it wasn't dangerous, but, no matter where I look on the net, it says it is a virus or something if you don't have Office Software.

Thanks guys for your replies

torio
torio is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 03:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Blitersety's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Finleyville, PA
Posts: 682
Send a message via AIM to Blitersety
Default Re: ctfmon.exe

I found that same process running on my computer. I have a Dell Dimension 4400 with Windows XP. I've always thought that it was either some kind of process that comes with SP2 but not the original XP, but I've always had that ctfmon.exe process in the task manager since I bought this computer and I've reformatted it at least four times. It never gave me any problems, I am almost certain it's not a virus.
__________________
Technology articles, reviews, and more! http://www.suite101.com/profile.cfm/philipdavis
-Asus P5Q Deluxe
- Intel G0 Q6600
-EVGA GeForce 8800 GTX
-Corsair TX750
-Antec 900 case
-Seagate Barracuda 320 GB HDD - main
-WD 320GB HDD - secondary
-Seagate Barracuda 500 GB HDD - tertiary
-Crucial Ballistix Tracer 3GB DDR2
-Lite-On 20x DVD burner
-Wireless MX-Revolution mouse
-Logitech G11 keyboard
Blitersety is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 04:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: ctfmon.exe

I have it too, and its always in my task list. When it's there, i just end it, and thats that.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 12:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: ctfmon.exe

block it out with tea timer of spybot
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 09:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
fixal0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Default Re: ctfmon.exe

it's nothing to worry about, and it doesn't use but a couple meg of ram
"ctfmom.exe" is the virus, not ctfmon (notice the M and N difference at the end)
__________________
Case:NZXT Trinity Silver PSU:Apevia Aspire 500W UV Green Motherboard:Asus A8N-SLI CPU:AMD Athlon 64 3500 CPU Cooler:Zalman CNPS7700-Cu Video:2x eVga nVidia GeForce 6800XT (256MB DDR) RAM:2Gig (4x512 Corsair TwinX dual channel) HDD:160Gig Seagate Barracuda SATA, 200Gig Maxtor SATA III CD/DVD:LG DVD ROM, NEC 16XDVD+-RW
(\__/) This is Bunny. Put him in your
(='.'=) signature and help him on his way
(")_(") to world domination
fixal0t is offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 01:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: ctfmon.exe

Thank you everybody for your replies It doesn't bother me as it once did. I'm learning to live with it and my system seems pretty healthy.

Thanks again !

Torio
__________________

torio is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.